Gooey Butter Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Very good, my family loved this. My neighbors do to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~PAMELA~

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
i found this cake to be lacking in the topping dept. I agree that the search is still on in the St. Louis gooey butter cake dept... The flavor in the topping just wasn't there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
While the cake is not bad, it's not a true St. Louis Gooey Butter Cake, not even close, so the search continues. Definitely use a rich yellow cake mix, as it becomes very bland with a lighter mix. It does require attention to baking time to prevent it from being over/under-cooked. Adding flavoring to the cream cheese might help--and you could probably reduce the amount of sugar without detriment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Piedmont, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
This is THE best easiest cake ever. Luckily, I read the reviews -- after I put the cake in. Took it out in 30 min. It is **definitely** gooey. Chocoholic that I am, I added 1 cup choc chips in the batter and 1/2 cup in the cream cheese + 1 tsp. van in each batters. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
A word of warning--the time on this recipe is WRONG. I really should have known better. You definitely want to check it at 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
I don't know what the gooey part is referring to because the bottom portion of mine turned out firm and the upper layer just slightly less firm. I thought this was a delicious cake! LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYKIDSMOM5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Morgan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
Taste better the next day after it has chilled overnight. I didn't enjoy the taste (way too sweet for me), but my kids and husband liked it a lot-they LOVE sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Not a very good cake at all. The cake itself was very dry and the gooey butter part was like a very thin layer of a bland cheesecake. Won't be making this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
Yum, Yum, Yum, this is so addictive!!!! Thank You so much for a great cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CyndeG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA
Living In: Stockbridge, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
I didn't care for the crust. A friend of mine suggested using only 1 stick of butter and that worked better. It was also way overcooked and had an almost burned taste to it. I will definitely take the advise of many other cooks and bake for about 30-35 minutes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States