Gooey Butter Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Maybe it's just us, but we aren't crazy about this. Was ok, but probably I'd try something else next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Boo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
I thought this was delicious! I did a few things different. To the cake mixture i pureed a little pinapple and added it in with the cake and i used some of the juice in cake mix as well to prevent dryness, works GREAT!I added 12oz cream cheese to the topping...i still think it could use a little more, along with a little tiny bit of lemon juice. I only used about half the amount of sugar. Will def make again! this is a fun recipe that you can do alot with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Sorry, I don't know what I did wrong, but I wasn't thrilled about this one. The gooey was too gooey....a little too sweet for me. My 17 year old sister loved it though. My parents...not so much :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I just made this cake tonight and it turned out perfectly. It was not dry like everyone says. I made the chocolate version. It was not very gooey but it is delicious! You do have to watch it very closely while it is in the oven. I did not have the dried out edges problem like some did. The only change I made was with the cake mix other than that I made no other changes and I will definatey make this again. This is definately one of the easiest cakes i have ever made. Excellent recipe! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lindale, Texas, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
very easy, but not all that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by floridatreasure1983
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
thank u all of u who care enuf to leave ur reviews cuz without them i would be lost!! i use them on every recipe and don't make anything on this site without first reading at least 20 if there are that many available!!deelishhhh!! i did do a lil' altering after reading the reviews from the greats!! lol!! as follows, i used a chocolate cake mix, all butter, 2-8 oz blocks of cream cheese & didn't add any extra confectioners sugar, 2 tsps. vanilla in the topping along with 3/4 cup white choc. chips! sprinkled top with 2 tbsp confectioners with 1 tbsp cocoa mixed in! this has just the right amt of topping this way and i baked for 35 minutes even with the extra topping and that was the perfect amount of time!! the topping was lite golden brown around the edges, jiggly when removed and when cooled gooey center just the rite amt of topping, cake was almost like a dense cake-like brownie. there is absolutely nothing bland about the topping and the cake was not crumbly or overly dry at all!! this is a keeper!! would be amazing with strawberry cake and will try that or orange next time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by floridatreasure1983

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Port Saint Lucie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Recipe is not very flexible; the top comes out "crisp" (borderline burnt if you cook it for the recommended time) and the inside may still not be cooked. Good luck if you intend to remove it from the pan, it's likely to fall apart into several pieces. Overall taste is average, but I do not recommend making this cake/recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
MY FAMILY LOVED IT. I USED LESS BUTTER AND DOUBLE THE CREAM CHEESE. COOKED EXACTLY 35 MINS , I THINK THIS IS THE 02ND BEST CAKE I HAVE EVER MADE. THANKS FOR ALL THE TIPS TO FINE TUNE THIS IT WAS FANTASTIC . JODI/ PHILADELPHIA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
My husband ate some before dinner, right out of the oven and again after dinner. He said it was delicious. Yummy cake. Will make it again and again. Thanks for the recipe. Easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
This recipe is fabulous! I made this for a family outing and everyone loved it. I read the reviews and used margarine instead of butter and baked it for 30 minutes. Like everyone says its not the prettiest cake, but it tastes amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States