Gooey Butter Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Wanda Woemmel Rohlfing
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Great recipe! I just had to add chocolate to mine though. I put semi-sweet chocolate chips in the cake batter crust and then melted about 10 Hershey kisses and swirled those on top of the cheesy sweet topping just before baking. Only thing I would probably do differently is reduce the amount of baking time. I've done this twice now and both times the crust came out darker and crunchier than I prefer - gonna try reducing it by 10 minutes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanda Woemmel Rohlfing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belle, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I made this cake with devils food cake mix and it was awful. The cake was dry and the cream cheese topping was so thin it practically dehydrated. It was basically like a chocolate cream cheese brownie, but super crumbly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Made this with chocolate cake mix. Loved it. Sprinkled pecans over the cake before baking just because I like a little crunch. Everyone loved it. Will be baking this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marianna, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Entire extended family thought I was a baking genius. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I have been making this cake since I lived in Texas 20 years ago. The chocolate version is fabulous with a cup of semisweet chocolate chips layered over the bottom "cake crust".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I usually love everything I try from this site. This recipe is not one of those. It came out hard way too sugary. I baked it just as directed plus I had my oven calibrated just recently. Won't make this again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Lombardo Durham

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Originally found this recipe and it called for two boxes of cake mix and 6 eggs. Made a very rich delicious cake. Trying this one out, using lemon cake mix instead of yellow cake mix. I'll let you know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
this was so good my husband could not stop eating it.. looking forward to sharing it with the family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
This was just not that great. I would have given it 2 stars except that the kids liked it so I gave it 3. As other reviewers have said, the cake layer is VERY dry. If it was a thinner layer and more like a bar this would have been ok, but that much "dry" in one layer made these barely edible for me. Cream cheese layer also lacked something to enhance the flavor - just a bit of lemon zest would have helped. Followed recipe exactly, except it was done in 30 minutes. I will not make these again....just needs too much tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I needed a last minute dessert for church, and had all of the ingredients for this! It was gobbled up. I think next time I may leave it in a bit longer; my oven is usually off, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Clark

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Monticello, Minnesota, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States