Gooey Brownies with Shortbread Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
Ick. I am usually a very competent baker, so I felt just horrible when these came out all wrong. The shortbread was very tough and the finished brownies were impossible to slice without falling apart. The flavor is just so-so. I feel bad admitting that I think these were kind of a waste of the ingredients that I don't usually keep on hand (used up my walnuts and condensed milk)... I'm almost embarassed to bring them to work, except that I know any treat will be considered a good treat at work. I sent a bunch to work with my husband, too. I will update later if there are positive comments from our co-workers, but overall I do not think I'll even attempt to make these again- don't even care to try and fix whatever went wrong. Sorry.. it was fun to try something new, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
I consider myself a "dessert lover" and especially a chocolate lover. I also love shortbread. While I think this recipe is a good idea, I don't like the way it tastes. The shortbread crust doesn't have much flavor to it (I would add ground almonds or pecans to it for more flavor and a nutty crunch), and the "brownie" layer really doesn't taste like brownies at all. I think it's the sweetened condensed milk that makes them taste kind of strange. Rather than using that recipe, I would just layer my favorite prepared brownie mix (with chocolate bar pieces and nuts mixed in) over the top of the modified crust and bake it. I think it's a good idea, but this recipe just didn't "hit the spot" for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lehi, Utah, USA
Living In: Eagle Mountain, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
These were smashing!!! They were really good! I used only 5 tablespoons of butter (1/2 cup seemed like too much) and half whole-wheat pastry flour in the crust. The crust had a great texture and taste. The brownie part was really gooey and yummy. I put in almost a whole cup of nuts because I wanted to use them up. I loved the nuts in this. Served warm with vanilla ice cream. Oh yeah... I used brown sugar instead of white in the crust; maybe that's what made it so tender and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
I made this recipe and received rave reviews from the whole neighborhood. I used chopped up Snickers bars in place of the regular chocolate bar and nuts. Absolutely a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belmont, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
AMAZING!! Anyone who gave this recipe a bad review must be doing something wrong. The only things I did different was I used an 8by8 dish and increased the cooking time by 10 minutes on both the crust and the brownie. I also used chocolate chips instead of a chocolate bar. I'll use this recipe over and over again! You have to try it at least once!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Gooey is an understatement. I would call this melted chocolate with shortbread crust. I followed the recipe and baking times exactly, but the top never really set. I let it sit at room temperature for about 7 hours, but it was still really wet when I cut into it. So, I put it in the fridge for several hours. It hardened up so that I could cut it, but it still isn't what I would call a brownie. That being said, it tastes very good. My kids absolutely love it and probably would have eaten the pan had I not stopped them. Don't know if I'll try again or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
INSANELY good recipe! You can make A LOT easier too, if you simply buy a brownie mix instead of making these brownies. They turned out better when I used Peanut Butter Cup brownie mix and added 1/2 c of peanut butter like somebody else had suggested. A real crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
Now THIS is a brownie recipe! The shortbread crust gives these brownies a fabulous touch. They are very rich, but delicious. I cut my brownies in small squares because it doesn't take much to satisfy a sweet tooth with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Really good warm with some milk. I didn't let the crust cool before I poured the brownie batter over the top and it came out great. I added 1/2 t of salt which helped wake up the chocolate flavor a bit and took down that condensed milk flavor people were talking about. And I used mint chocolate chips for a really nice minty brownie. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Loved this recipe - but I think using less butter (as someone suggested) would be a good idea. Also, using brown sugar for the crust sounds like it would make the crust a little sweeter (it was a bit bland). I only had Semi-sweet chips. It was still good! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States