Gooey Brownies with Shortbread Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
This is an excellent brownie recipe! I was surprised at how all of these tastes went together. I do have to say these brownies are very rich so try a small piece to start. Thanks for a great recipe. My husband also gave these a "thumbs up".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
These were awesome. NOT for anybody that doesn't love chocolate! One of these is enough for anybody! When I chopped the chocolate, I did it coarsely - large chunks (1/2 inch pieces) and I'm glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
YUMMY! Great recipe and easy to make. I whipped it up before church for my hubby's birthday. Loved the crust! I chopped up chocolate chips because I didn't have a candy bar, but it was great anyways. Also added a tsp of salt to the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
"AWESOME" .... I subtituted 1 cup of finely crushed Oreo cookies for the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livingston, New Jersey, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
An absolutely wonderful brownie recipe. Turned out wonderful and the shortbread crust adds something that other brownie recipes don't. Very creamy in the center. If you love brownies you'll love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
Now THIS is a brownie recipe! The shortbread crust gives these brownies a fabulous touch. They are very rich, but delicious. I cut my brownies in small squares because it doesn't take much to satisfy a sweet tooth with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
These were WONDERFUL! I made them for my sister and niece who are brownie experts and they loved them, too. The only change I made was to use the Hershey's Special Dark Chocolate bar instead of milk chocolate as I like dark chocolate better. Simply scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUDYKENN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
Excellent! Everybody loved them. I don't really think they taste like brownies, but loved them anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
These brownies were very dense and fudgy..I doubled the amount of shortbread crust-nice and flakey. Very easy to make. I used bagged chocolate chunks and added Skor bits...my husband ate these 3 at a time! Thx for a great, easy brownie recipe..I will no longer by 'boxed' brownie mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
These were easy to make and very good. The shortbread adds a less sweet, and crispy contrast. My son thought they were the best brownies, even though I opted to leave the nuts in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marji

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boothbay Harbor, Maine, USA
Living In: Aptos, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States