Gooey Brownies with Shortbread Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
well, I had to cook the brownie portion of the entire thing for nearly an hour to get it to cook through, and I'm thinking the suggestion by an earlier reviewer to use a favorite shortbread recipe and a favorite brownie recipe sounds better. But this was an easy recipe to follow, it was easy to make and it was a lot like magic but with some non magical work involved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitzi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I made this recipe a while ago and did not like the taste but I liked the concept. I might suggest taking your favorite shortbread recipe (I use a brown sugar shortbread recipe) and then simply using a package of Betty Crocker Brownie mix instead of the "from scratch" recipe here...much better taste and a lot easier. I have made it this way several times and have no left over. I usually don't like it when others take the recipe and totally change it but I felt the idea here was good but the recipe was not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oregon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
These brownies were just what my Dr. ordered! (ha) I did use milk chocolate chips because that is what I had on hand. I also made these in a 8x8 inch pan.....in doing so I needed to increase the cooking time. I checked them at 20 minutes and even though the top was cooked the insides were still undone. I added 5 more minutes to it, checked them again and they still needed a few more minutes so I just turned off the oven heat and let them sit in there for another 10 minutes and they were perfect!! Thanks for a delicious brownie....I will make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
I used milk chocolate chips instead of a candy bar for the chunks and I think it turned out fine. I also had to cook it about 10 minutes longer as it seemed like it wasn't done and it never pulled away from the sides of the pan but they tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
Good, but more like a chocolate butter tart filling than a brownie. I might make again, but with less crust. I found it very thick and hard to vut through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
I'm not convinced that the crust matches the brownie here. And the flavor of the brownie half was DEFINITELY off. Not sweet enough, not flavorful enough. I was disappointed...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
These brownies had a nice gooey texture, for sure, but the taste is definitely off. Sort of bland. I didn't use the chocolate bar, though, which probably helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apple Jacks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
INSANELY good recipe! You can make A LOT easier too, if you simply buy a brownie mix instead of making these brownies. They turned out better when I used Peanut Butter Cup brownie mix and added 1/2 c of peanut butter like somebody else had suggested. A real crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
Really good and really rich...thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Cougar, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
Ick. I am usually a very competent baker, so I felt just horrible when these came out all wrong. The shortbread was very tough and the finished brownies were impossible to slice without falling apart. The flavor is just so-so. I feel bad admitting that I think these were kind of a waste of the ingredients that I don't usually keep on hand (used up my walnuts and condensed milk)... I'm almost embarassed to bring them to work, except that I know any treat will be considered a good treat at work. I sent a bunch to work with my husband, too. I will update later if there are positive comments from our co-workers, but overall I do not think I'll even attempt to make these again- don't even care to try and fix whatever went wrong. Sorry.. it was fun to try something new, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States