Gooey Brownies with Shortbread Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by TX Tigress
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Very yummy, flavor kind-of tasted like a Twix candy bar. The brownie part was more gooey than brownie but tasted very good! It was a fun recipie to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TX Tigress
Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by FUNLETA
Reviewed: May 24, 2009
The idea of putting brownies on a cookie crust is great. However, I agree with other members, that the texture of this brownie is a little funny. I would also suggest preparing your favorite brownie recipe to top this cookie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUNLETA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Followed the recipe exactly but it didn't turn out the way I was expecting. Guess I will continue the search for a good brownie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bonanza, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
in general it's hard for me to make brownies because the middle would never be as done as the edges but these were worth that stress. NOTE: the toothpick test obviously wont work for this recipe. so trust the recipe and let it sit in a warm oven for a couple of minutes if unsure. it was super rich and easy to make and everyone loved these brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This was SOOO rich. Definitely good if you're looking for a chocolate fix. I substituted semi-sweet chocolate chips since I had nothing else on hand. The crust is very buttery, and I might try reducing it next time...I found that part a bit heavy. **Update**December 26, 2008...just realized I used twice the butter that the recipe called for. That would explain the heaviness...silly me :) Perfect in that it's not too sweet. Overall, definitely making again. With the correct amount of butter this time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
AMAZING!! Anyone who gave this recipe a bad review must be doing something wrong. The only things I did different was I used an 8by8 dish and increased the cooking time by 10 minutes on both the crust and the brownie. I also used chocolate chips instead of a chocolate bar. I'll use this recipe over and over again! You have to try it at least once!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
This recipe has been great for me. The shortbread crust is super easy to make. To make the recipe even easier I use a box brownie mix instead of making them from scratch. They look amazing when done and taste great. I am now trying different kinds of brownies on top of the crust. I went to a friends house the other night and brought the brownies with me. Everyone loved them and thought I spent hours in the kitchen making them. Next I am going to try flavoring the shortbread crust. I think peppermint with the brownies on top would make a great holiday treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kasey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moultonborough, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Rave reviews from my friends for these brownies. The shortbread crust was yummy. I followed the recipe exactly and they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Oh WOW!! This is one of the best brownie recipes I have ever found. My family loved it. I baked it in an 8x8 inch pan, and they were gone by the next day, so I baked another batch right away. The slight crispiness of the shortbread is a perfect complement to the rich gooey brownie. The only change I made was using an 11 oz. bag of milk chocolate chips rather than a chocolate bar. This is a recipe I will use again and again. Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sammy:)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
FABULOUS!!!! My family and friends LOVED this moist and rich dessert:) I bought vanilla whipped frosting and mixed it with a 1/2cup smooth peanut butter and whipped it until it was light and fluffy and pipped it along the edges of the brownie's, I didn't add the nuts and I used my cheesecake pan to bake them in. I will make these often, yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammy:)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rutland, Vermont, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States