Gooey Brownies with Shortbread Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by TX Tigress
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Very yummy, flavor kind-of tasted like a Twix candy bar. The brownie part was more gooey than brownie but tasted very good! It was a fun recipie to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TX Tigress
Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by FUNLETA
Reviewed: May 24, 2009
The idea of putting brownies on a cookie crust is great. However, I agree with other members, that the texture of this brownie is a little funny. I would also suggest preparing your favorite brownie recipe to top this cookie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUNLETA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Followed the recipe exactly but it didn't turn out the way I was expecting. Guess I will continue the search for a good brownie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bonanza, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
in general it's hard for me to make brownies because the middle would never be as done as the edges but these were worth that stress. NOTE: the toothpick test obviously wont work for this recipe. so trust the recipe and let it sit in a warm oven for a couple of minutes if unsure. it was super rich and easy to make and everyone loved these brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This was SOOO rich. Definitely good if you're looking for a chocolate fix. I substituted semi-sweet chocolate chips since I had nothing else on hand. The crust is very buttery, and I might try reducing it next time...I found that part a bit heavy. **Update**December 26, 2008...just realized I used twice the butter that the recipe called for. That would explain the heaviness...silly me :) Perfect in that it's not too sweet. Overall, definitely making again. With the correct amount of butter this time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
AMAZING!! Anyone who gave this recipe a bad review must be doing something wrong. The only things I did different was I used an 8by8 dish and increased the cooking time by 10 minutes on both the crust and the brownie. I also used chocolate chips instead of a chocolate bar. I'll use this recipe over and over again! You have to try it at least once!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
This recipe has been great for me. The shortbread crust is super easy to make. To make the recipe even easier I use a box brownie mix instead of making them from scratch. They look amazing when done and taste great. I am now trying different kinds of brownies on top of the crust. I went to a friends house the other night and brought the brownies with me. Everyone loved them and thought I spent hours in the kitchen making them. Next I am going to try flavoring the shortbread crust. I think peppermint with the brownies on top would make a great holiday treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kasey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moultonborough, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Rave reviews from my friends for these brownies. The shortbread crust was yummy. I followed the recipe exactly and they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Oh WOW!! This is one of the best brownie recipes I have ever found. My family loved it. I baked it in an 8x8 inch pan, and they were gone by the next day, so I baked another batch right away. The slight crispiness of the shortbread is a perfect complement to the rich gooey brownie. The only change I made was using an 11 oz. bag of milk chocolate chips rather than a chocolate bar. This is a recipe I will use again and again. Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sammy:)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
FABULOUS!!!! My family and friends LOVED this moist and rich dessert:) I bought vanilla whipped frosting and mixed it with a 1/2cup smooth peanut butter and whipped it until it was light and fluffy and pipped it along the edges of the brownie's, I didn't add the nuts and I used my cheesecake pan to bake them in. I will make these often, yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammy:)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rutland, Vermont, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States