Gooey Brownies with Shortbread Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Really good warm with some milk. I didn't let the crust cool before I poured the brownie batter over the top and it came out great. I added 1/2 t of salt which helped wake up the chocolate flavor a bit and took down that condensed milk flavor people were talking about. And I used mint chocolate chips for a really nice minty brownie. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Seaman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I really liked the flavors. My shortbread was too hard because it never browned. The brownie part never pulled away from the pan, but thanks to other reviews I knew what to watch for on this part. I thought the brownie flavor was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Gooey is an understatement. I would call this melted chocolate with shortbread crust. I followed the recipe and baking times exactly, but the top never really set. I let it sit at room temperature for about 7 hours, but it was still really wet when I cut into it. So, I put it in the fridge for several hours. It hardened up so that I could cut it, but it still isn't what I would call a brownie. That being said, it tastes very good. My kids absolutely love it and probably would have eaten the pan had I not stopped them. Don't know if I'll try again or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I used the shortbread recipe but substituted the brownie recipe with the Best Brownies recipe from this site since the brownie recipe included seemed to not be a favorite among some reviewers. These are amazing. It's probably not true that any brownie recipe will work, but you'd have to test that theory out on your own. These are considerably simple though probably take as long as other equally delicious but time consuming treats. worth every calorie and every star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I give these 3.5 stars. They were good, but they weren't great. I used brown sugar in place of white for the crust. I had to bake a little longer than the recipe stated for the brownie to be done. Not sure if I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeschoolMom78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I'm shocked! This is an excellent recipe. I read the reviews and proceeded anyway, making 2 minor adjustments: brown sugar instead of white in the shortbread layer, and brown rice flour throughout (dietary necessity). The inside was VERY gooey the night of baking. I took it to work the next day and it had firmed up just enough. A definite hit and I will no doubt make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UALMEIDA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Encinitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I was skeptical to try these with the mixed reviews, but I am so glad that I went with my instincts because these are delicious. I did change the white sugar to brown sugar for the shortbread crust, but otherwise kept it the same. I also chose to leave out the nuts, because of a personal preference. The brownies are exactly how we like them, gooey and melt in your mouth. If you like cake-like brownies this is definitely not a recipe for you, but if you like them gooey you should definitely give it a try. The chocolate bar adds just the right touch. This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Loved this recipe - but I think using less butter (as someone suggested) would be a good idea. Also, using brown sugar for the crust sounds like it would make the crust a little sweeter (it was a bit bland). I only had Semi-sweet chips. It was still good! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I didn't care for these. The "Brownie" top is not like a traditional brownie at all, but it is indeed gooey and chocolatey. Very rich and sweet. I had to cook the topping longer than this recipe suggested and it was still very gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I enjoyed these, especially the shortbread part. I'm thankful it was only a small pan, because the rest of my family didn't care for them. They would have preferred regular brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States