Gooey Brownies with Shortbread Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by careydavies
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Turned out delicious, my husband was the taste tester and came back immediately for a second immediately. Made a double batch in a 13 x 9 pan, added a smidge more flour & cocoa. Topped with crushed peppermints. Sold at the decadent dessert auction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
'Not as good as it sounds. Missing something. Chocolate chips? White glaze? Good idea. I'll try other shortbread & brownie recipes together. Gave to MH one year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mia Poulsen
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
It was waaaay to dry, too bad, since it was a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mia Poulsen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Good flavor but a little too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
My husband and I loved these! I wouldn't change a thing! Except I'm impatient, so I did not allow the shortbread to cool before the next step. They turned out great. Ingredients and cooking times were right on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amyjojo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Highland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bloofan
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I skipped the walnuts and found if you cook the second part for 5-10 minutes longer, they top layer cooks better. I used Valrhona cocoa and chocolate chips. This is my favorite recipe so far, you just have to be delicate with the brownies when you cut them out. Almost like a souffle because of the sweetened condensed milk. This isn't the recipe for you if you are looking for a typical brownie. This is a unique take on the chocolate flavor and balances it with a buttery shortbread. The textures are wonderfully contrasting as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
I just made the shortbread with just 1 Tbsp sugar and they were great with soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
These would be 5 stars if the cooking time was right for the brownies. I'm glad I read the other reviews because 20 minutes wasn't even close to being enough time. I added an additional 20 minutes when it was all said and done before I could take out the brownies. Otherwise, they are absolutely delicious and sinfully rich. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LittleBetty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I thought these were better than a plain brownie! absolutely..The cookie crust on the bottom, was tasty, I loved. The brownie center reminded me of a fudgy pudding, with choc. bits inside. This made the flavor absolutely perfect and not overly rich. I did add salt, which I felt that the crust should have. Also added some brown sugar to crust for more flavor(1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar ..and worked well... not overly sweet and very satisfying.. will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjohn57

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I used bread flour, brown sugar and cinnamon in the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetotravel

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States