Gooey Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
absolutely delicious, maybe a trifle too much even for unrepentant sweettooths...I'll try with less confectioner's sugar, but congratulations all the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
Very decadent and rich!!! but very quick and easy. I used Duncan Hines Butter recipe cake mix, used 1/3 less fat cream cheese. I also used milk chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet and also sprinkled more chips on top after baking. I decreased confectioners sugar to 2 and 1/2 cups as suggested. Will make again, so quick easy and good. Thanks Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
This is such a wonderful recipe, I keep making it and modifying it. I have used regular sugar with excellent result and I have reduced the sugar to 3/4 Cup and it turns out fine. My latest modification was to use lemon cake mix and white chocolate chunks. It makes a great lemon slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chinook, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
Loved it! Except for one thing, you definately have to decrease the confectioners sugar to 2 cups or it will put you in a diabetic coma! made a second batch with 2 cups, and it was to die for!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
Excellent! That's all I've got to say...Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
I took the other reviewers suggestions and cut the sugar back by a cup and it came out wonderful. I was looking for something cheap, delicious and easy to take to a last minute dinner innivation. They were all gone in five minutes flat! I couldn't believe it. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamden, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
This was very good but rich.It was also very easy to make since.I had a party and they went quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
If you have a sweet tooth, these are definitely for you!!! Word of caution, I made these to take to a friend and they are not "pretty" when cut. They taste great but don't present that well. The gooey definitely makes them hard to "clean cut".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
I can't bake but I made these My husband loved them thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2003
This is another easy, delicious recipe! A must for bake sales. I called it Triple Layer Gooey Bars since there were three layers of sweetness! You can't go wrong with these bars. Try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grantville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States