Gooey Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
The idea of this recipe is good but it doesn't quite turn out. The bottom layer is too dry and the top a little too sweet. I think with tinkering it could be good so I'm going to work on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
Turned out great and so easy! I used 3/4 cup of regular white sugar. It was not to rich. I will definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
I didn't like this recipe. The top was okay, similar to a 7 layer bar flavor, but the bottom was like dry hard cake with no flavor. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
These were just o.k. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
These were awesome and easy to make! I followed the recipe for everything except I left the chocolate chips out, because I used to make these as a kid but without the chocolate chips and thats what I was craving, but I am sure they are just as good if not better with them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by racensissysmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cherokee, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
these were EXCELENT! a little sweet, but the whole family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARIHARDY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Outlook, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
Sorry-these are not a winner in my book. They are way too sweet and instead of a "good" gooey they seem to be underbaked. This is not a keeper for me and my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
YUM!!!!this was soo delicious!!I'm soo glad i tried it. I was almost afraid to because it had gotten some iffy reviews and im not a big fan of cake mixes, but it was extremely delicious!! Like some of the other reviewers i also used only 2 cups of conf. sugar, and i added 4tbsp of melted butter to the cream cheese mix because i noticed most of the other gooey butter cake recipes had butter in the filling as well, and it turned out really well. I do agree that the cake portion is a bit dry but altogether it was well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
Although this recipe sounded good, I threw the entire batch away. They taste as though something is missing in the cake layer, kind of sandy. They are also pretty unappetizing in appearance. I bake alot and would definitely not make this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Bridge

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
WOW so easy. I used devils food cake mix and substituted Heresy’s raspberry chocolate chips. Sooooo good my co-workers keep asking for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States