Gooey Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 29, 2008
I made this recipe around the kids' bedtime last night, and half of the bars were already gone when I left for work this morning. I have made these as written and have also used a recipe that is identical except for the addition of a stick of melted butter to the top layer. Both are very good. The recipe with the extra butter is obviously less healthy, but the extra butter makes for a fluffier top layer. The one recommendation that I would make is that you can get away with reducing the amount of powdered sugar. I've never used more than 3 cups, and sometimes use less than that. You can get away with granulated sugar if that's all you have on hand. I also use my stand mixer to beat the crust mixture for 2 minutes at medium speed. My crust has a better texture when I do that. I found the crust to be a little bit dry when I just mixed it by hand. Okay, so I had more than one suggestion! One last thing - I had to extend my baking time to 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMALEIGH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
Can't say I like these, but I didn't have any problems with anything being dry or not being gooey. I just don't like the combo of chocolate with the cake and cream cheese. I think I'd like it much better with fruit jam or just fruit instead. I did use regular sugar, and 3/4 c of it per another reviewer. Very sweet and rich. I had to bake an extra 15 min though. Maybe bf will like it better than I do. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
Very sweet & rich but we love stuff super-sweet so that's great for us. They are better on day 2 after the top has set fully. We liked them a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Too rich for me, but the family loved it! I made this over the holidays but all I had was M&M's (red and green), so I used 1/2 cup and they turned out great and added some holiday color to the center. The men loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I followed the recipe and these bars were easy and delicious. I didn't find them too sweet but I have a sweet tooth and have loved other gooey bar recipes. I baked them late at night in a bit of a rush for a party and everything turned out great. I am keeping this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
This recipe was okay, but VERY rich..extremely sweet, and I only used 2 cups of sugar like everyone else suggested. I can't imagine if I used 3 1/2 cups how sweet it would've been. I wasn't very impressed...it's definitely "gooey" but it was too sweet for anyone in my house..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Had bought a desert mix called "Ooey Gooey" at Sam's Club that was very similar and this recipe goes above and beyond! Made exactly as directed and used Ghirardelli chocolate chips and a grocery store brand cake mix...AWESOME! Rich! Satisfied a major chocolate craving. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
My family LOVED this recipe! I cut the sugar by at least a cup, I also did half a cup of chocolate chips and half a cup of butterscotch chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wibaux, Montana, USA
Living In: Minot, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
these are great I also cut down the powdered sugar to 2 cups. Tried this with a chocolate cake and peanut butter chips. Very good also. Now will try a chocolate cake with andes mint chips. I tried these with the Andes Mint chips. They were AWESOME. This is the best recipe yet. I also have tried different flavors of cake with many combinations of chips!! Excellant recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boscobel, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Yummy!!! I've been asked multiple times for this recipe. My only suggestion is to use more chocolate chips - however I love chocolate. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarajo614

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States