Gooey Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I made this without the cream cheese topping ( I just wanted the cookie bar) and it turned out excellent and was so quick and easy to make. Since I was only making the cookie part I adjusted the cook time accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Way too sweet for my family. Sorry will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vazquez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
So Good! I think next time, I'll try a chocolate cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Very good. Will definitely take care of your sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeschoolMom78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
The solution to the dry crust! Add one box of vanilla instant pudding and 1/4c water to the cake mix batter, and the crust will be moist. Also extra chocolate chips on top will help the chocoholic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
As everyone else said, they are a rich, decadent, incredibly sweet bar. I think it's missing something: a tsp of vanilla in the cream cheese? toasted almonds or coconut on the top before baking? And I probably won't try any more recipes that use cake mix, just way too much added sugar. I think this would be better with a shortbread cookie-like crust, and if I EVER make this again I would cut the sugar way down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KCANDROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
I've made these for years (got the recipe from a roommate in college) but could never make them without them turning into sugary CEMENT in the pan. I think the comments made for this recipe solved my problems with different amounts than my current recipe! Another tip I have though... instead of sprinkling chocolate chips, stir them into the cake mix layer. It makes the cream cheese layer much easier to spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Very easy to make. I didn't have enough powdered sugar but I made it anyway. I didn't think it turned out but everyone raved about it and asked for the recipe. I will make sure to have enough powdered sugar BEFORE I start the recipe next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Patton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
I made this recipe around the kids' bedtime last night, and half of the bars were already gone when I left for work this morning. I have made these as written and have also used a recipe that is identical except for the addition of a stick of melted butter to the top layer. Both are very good. The recipe with the extra butter is obviously less healthy, but the extra butter makes for a fluffier top layer. The one recommendation that I would make is that you can get away with reducing the amount of powdered sugar. I've never used more than 3 cups, and sometimes use less than that. You can get away with granulated sugar if that's all you have on hand. I also use my stand mixer to beat the crust mixture for 2 minutes at medium speed. My crust has a better texture when I do that. I found the crust to be a little bit dry when I just mixed it by hand. Okay, so I had more than one suggestion! One last thing - I had to extend my baking time to 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMALEIGH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
Can't say I like these, but I didn't have any problems with anything being dry or not being gooey. I just don't like the combo of chocolate with the cake and cream cheese. I think I'd like it much better with fruit jam or just fruit instead. I did use regular sugar, and 3/4 c of it per another reviewer. Very sweet and rich. I had to bake an extra 15 min though. Maybe bf will like it better than I do. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States