Gooey Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
Loved it! Except for one thing, you definately have to decrease the confectioners sugar to 2 cups or it will put you in a diabetic coma! made a second batch with 2 cups, and it was to die for!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
Very decadent and rich!!! but very quick and easy. I used Duncan Hines Butter recipe cake mix, used 1/3 less fat cream cheese. I also used milk chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet and also sprinkled more chips on top after baking. I decreased confectioners sugar to 2 and 1/2 cups as suggested. Will make again, so quick easy and good. Thanks Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
I was excited to try this recipe, but I won't be making it again. It's like eating raw cookie dough with extra sugar and butter added. I used half the amount of sugar called for, but they still turned out way too sweet! Don't get me wrong, I LOVE sweet desserts, but this was just too much. My husband and friends agreed. I also found the cake dough to be fairly hard to work with (very crumbly and difficult to spread), and the cream cheese layer is too thick and sticky to pour evenly over the chips. Better to simply mix the chips in with the cream cheese and save yourself some trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
YUM!!!!this was soo delicious!!I'm soo glad i tried it. I was almost afraid to because it had gotten some iffy reviews and im not a big fan of cake mixes, but it was extremely delicious!! Like some of the other reviewers i also used only 2 cups of conf. sugar, and i added 4tbsp of melted butter to the cream cheese mix because i noticed most of the other gooey butter cake recipes had butter in the filling as well, and it turned out really well. I do agree that the cake portion is a bit dry but altogether it was well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
I took the other reviewers suggestions and cut the sugar back by a cup and it came out wonderful. I was looking for something cheap, delicious and easy to take to a last minute dinner innivation. They were all gone in five minutes flat! I couldn't believe it. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamden, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
The idea of this recipe is good but it doesn't quite turn out. The bottom layer is too dry and the top a little too sweet. I think with tinkering it could be good so I'm going to work on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2004
These were very good but I did make changes. First I do not think that it is possible to spread the mixture because of the thickness. I ended up having to press it in the pan. I also cut the sugar down to 1 cup and that was perfect and still sweet but not overly sweet. (3-1/2 cups seems like way too much). I threw the ingredients for the topping in the food processor and it poured nicely and evenly and the result was a nice cheese-like topping. Will be making again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I make this all the time and my friends love it! lots of people ask for this recipe. yes, it sticks to my teeth, but that's what sweets do. I sometimes make a half recipe in an 8x8 pan with a cupcake mix that is half the size of a cake mix. I also cook it a little longer so the topping isn't as gooey (I am paranoid about cooking the eggs through) and with a little brown on top, it makes for an almost marshmallow top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
This is such a wonderful recipe, I keep making it and modifying it. I have used regular sugar with excellent result and I have reduced the sugar to 3/4 Cup and it turns out fine. My latest modification was to use lemon cake mix and white chocolate chunks. It makes a great lemon slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chinook, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
absolutely delicious, maybe a trifle too much even for unrepentant sweettooths...I'll try with less confectioner's sugar, but congratulations all the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States