Gooey Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
These are yummy, but I did change to suit what I had on hand. I used a chocolate cake mix, 12oz of cream cheese with 3 eggs and 4 C of powdered sugar. I also used a 10x15 pan because I like them not to be so thick. Turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This always turns out great. I also like the fact it doesn't use all the butter that a certain Lady uses in all her recipes. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I made this without the cream cheese topping ( I just wanted the cookie bar) and it turned out excellent and was so quick and easy to make. Since I was only making the cookie part I adjusted the cook time accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Way too sweet for my family. Sorry will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vazquez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
So Good! I think next time, I'll try a chocolate cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Very good. Will definitely take care of your sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeschoolMom78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
The solution to the dry crust! Add one box of vanilla instant pudding and 1/4c water to the cake mix batter, and the crust will be moist. Also extra chocolate chips on top will help the chocoholic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
As everyone else said, they are a rich, decadent, incredibly sweet bar. I think it's missing something: a tsp of vanilla in the cream cheese? toasted almonds or coconut on the top before baking? And I probably won't try any more recipes that use cake mix, just way too much added sugar. I think this would be better with a shortbread cookie-like crust, and if I EVER make this again I would cut the sugar way down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KCANDROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
I've made these for years (got the recipe from a roommate in college) but could never make them without them turning into sugary CEMENT in the pan. I think the comments made for this recipe solved my problems with different amounts than my current recipe! Another tip I have though... instead of sprinkling chocolate chips, stir them into the cake mix layer. It makes the cream cheese layer much easier to spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Very easy to make. I didn't have enough powdered sugar but I made it anyway. I didn't think it turned out but everyone raved about it and asked for the recipe. I will make sure to have enough powdered sugar BEFORE I start the recipe next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Patton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States