Good for You Greek Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
This recipe was ok. Not the usual Greek salad that I'm used to. I will probably be make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Made this for houseguest who liked it a lot. Kalamata olives are the best in a Greek salad. Used this site's Absolutely Fabulous Greek House Dressing..........which I keep prepared at all times!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti'sPantry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crestview, Florida, USA
Living In: Shalimar, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Not bad! While nothing compares to a fresh salad at one of Chicago's well-known Greek restaurants, this was a pretty darn good! Other than the dressing being a *tad* bitter for my liking, I really enjoyed this. I didn't detect the bright, citrus note that I am accustomed to, but I think that may gave been my fault.... I used the juice of a Meyer lemon and think that may be the reason my dressing didn't turn out as I had hoped it would (FYI, Meyer lemons have a sweeter, less acidic flavor than the common supermarket variety). To make this salad a bit more "authentic," I did a little doctoring (I know, I know...). I sliced my cucumber and onion, cut my tomatoes into wedges, added a few peperoncini peppers and tossed everything with crisp Iceberg lettuce - voila! I can now enjoy a big fat Greek salad just the way I like it. :) Thanks for sharing your recipe, Jen. This lovely salad paired perfectly with my Mediterranean-inspired main dish! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
My husband said it was the best salad he has ever had. I thought it was a bit lemony, and I love lemon. I will just take away a tbsn next time. I did add some garlic and a tiny bit of stevia. Home grown tomatoes and just plain black olives. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kclight

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Highland Village, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I made this pretty much as written except I used grape tomatoes and I forgot to add the salt and pepper to the dressing. Didn't even miss it though! The salad got a lot of flavor from the cheese and olives. It was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellybeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Easy as pie and yummy too boot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
What a great, light salad! Since I needed a "substantial" main dish for dinner tonight, I took the following liberties with the recipe, which turned out be amazing! First, I whisked up the dressing: olive oil, lemon juice to taste (a LOT more due to personal preference), a couple tablespoons of rice wine vinegar, some garlic/onion powders, freshly ground sea salt and black pepper, dried minced onion, and Italian seasoning to taste. I let it "marry" for a bit to soften the dried onion. I used an entire bag of butter lettuce mixed with organic baby spinach and mixed in the cucs, tomatoes, thinly diced red onions, feta cheese, and used kalamata olives just in my portion since my DH doesn't care for them. I also diced up some turkey, along with an avocado, as a topping to the salad. Much to my great surprise, the 4 year-old DD LOVED this and even liked sampling the kalamata olives. Awesome salad; one that will be repeated in this house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Excellent. Just a hint, you can omit the oil and lemon and use a jar of feta cheese in oil and use that as the dressing. I've tried it and it tastes amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I love this recipe! I make it often on Sundays and have it to munch on before dinner with some hummus and pita bread. Makes a great snack! The only substitution I made is garlic salt instead of salt and pepper and I like to slice grape or cherry tomatoes and put some in for some added texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Great and authentic recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Greek Pasta Salad I

This salad is bursting with bright colors and fresh, authentic flavors.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States