Good Old Meat Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Delicious meat pie! Almost as good as the one my grandmother used to make. I used extra lean ground beef that I fried and drained. I also double the veggies and use two store-bought deep dish pie crusts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Loved it! I was lazy though and nuked a 16 oz. bag of mixed veggies for 10 minutes instead of using the potatoes. I still sauteed the onion though according to the recipe. A very good recipe for leftover beef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MISSMARISA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Excellent recipe! The only thing I did differently was added a packet of Lipton onion and mushroom soup mix to the mixture....it's fantastic!! See my picture...it turned out beautifully, and I had no leftovers! Thank you for sharing this recipe...it's an instant family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMARISA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Vermont, USA
Living In: Wantage Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
I confess, I used this as a starting point in my "clean out the frig" meat pie. I used cube steak, corn, broccoli, frozen hash browns (the chunky cube type), and baby carrots (about a cup and a half full). Oh and a small split of red wine, turned just a little bit vinegar. This recipe gave me the proportions of vegetables to meat, and a list of seasonings to use. I couldn't have cleaned out my refrigerator without it! The result was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Detter Margul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
My six year old had 3 servings! We all wanted more it was so good. I substituted the potato for 5-6 sliced mushrooms which I sauteed with the onion and 2 cloves garlic in olive oil . I used a bit more broth (one entire can) and it didn't make it too soupy. Also, I used fresh green beans cut into 1 inch pieces instead of the peas. This recipe is a keeper and so easy to change to what you have on hand. Next time I will add more vegetables and (maybe even) meat to really fill my pie dish. Also, I would love to try substituting some of the broth with Guiness beer (or any dark beer) to try to copy a pie I had in an English pub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Very similar to our Canadian Meat Pie. Substitute the cooked/leftover beef for ground pork and ground beef. Saute until cooked complete the way this recipe does it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This was a home run dinner. Everyone loved it. Personally I wish I had put a little more sauce broth/flour in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blake Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TrueNorthCook
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
I would NOT recommend cubed beef for this recipe but stirfry beef or something slender. Aside from that this was SO TASTY i doubled veg like other reviewers and added crust on the bottom for true pie effect. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrueNorthCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
This turned out really well - I never would have thought of making the sauce like that. I made it with leftover pork roast and homemade top/bottom crust as my family prefers that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Excellent. I had left over beef from Christmas dinner and chopped that up. Diced that and the carrots and potato into small cubes, and added a small can of drained mushrooms. Also didn't have garlic powder on hand, so I used garlic salt. It was delicious. My husband really loved it. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNAPPYSTUFF

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States