Good Old Meat Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This was just okay, but a great starter recipe, don't be afraid to try it. For us the oregano overwhelmed the pie, leaving it out next time. Added mushrooms. Probably more veggies too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 52GLASSACT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harlowton, Montana, USA
Living In: Sumner, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Very good and easy. I doubled the veggies and doubled the sauce. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
This was wonderful. I did make some changes but only because I'm weird that way. I added 2 garlic cloves to the onions and potatoes. I added a bottom crust. I also added some mushrooms and left out the oregano. I loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
This meat pie has now become a standard in our house. My 13 yr old son loves to take the leftovers for lunch. The pie is perfect as is even though I've changed it up depending on what ingredients I have on hand. I've used browned ground beef, leftover turkey, and chicken successfully too. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
my family absolutely loved this. i made it with cooked ground beef, because that's all i had on hand. i increased the sauce (my family like lots of sauce) and used potatoes, onions, carrots - peas don't go over well here. when i first took it out of the oven, i found that the potatoes were a bit undercooked, but when my dad ate after it sat on the stove for a few minutes, he said it was all thoroughly cooked. next time, i'm going to increase the amount of potatoes and vegetable, adding some more varieties. overall this recipe was so easy to make and everyone really loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Delicious meat pie! Almost as good as the one my grandmother used to make. I used extra lean ground beef that I fried and drained. I also double the veggies and use two store-bought deep dish pie crusts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Loved it! I was lazy though and nuked a 16 oz. bag of mixed veggies for 10 minutes instead of using the potatoes. I still sauteed the onion though according to the recipe. A very good recipe for leftover beef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MISSMARISA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Excellent recipe! The only thing I did differently was added a packet of Lipton onion and mushroom soup mix to the mixture....it's fantastic!! See my picture...it turned out beautifully, and I had no leftovers! Thank you for sharing this recipe...it's an instant family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMARISA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Vermont, USA
Living In: Wantage Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
I confess, I used this as a starting point in my "clean out the frig" meat pie. I used cube steak, corn, broccoli, frozen hash browns (the chunky cube type), and baby carrots (about a cup and a half full). Oh and a small split of red wine, turned just a little bit vinegar. This recipe gave me the proportions of vegetables to meat, and a list of seasonings to use. I couldn't have cleaned out my refrigerator without it! The result was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Detter Margul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
My six year old had 3 servings! We all wanted more it was so good. I substituted the potato for 5-6 sliced mushrooms which I sauteed with the onion and 2 cloves garlic in olive oil . I used a bit more broth (one entire can) and it didn't make it too soupy. Also, I used fresh green beans cut into 1 inch pieces instead of the peas. This recipe is a keeper and so easy to change to what you have on hand. Next time I will add more vegetables and (maybe even) meat to really fill my pie dish. Also, I would love to try substituting some of the broth with Guiness beer (or any dark beer) to try to copy a pie I had in an English pub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States