Good Old Meat Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
This was good and fairly quick to make, though i added a bit of extra spice which was a good thing in the end or it would have been somewhat bland for our tastes anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MRS. SHOCKLEY
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I thought I'd update to say I've now made this with chicken, and it was just as good as beef. We have taken to microwaving the diced potatoes and the carrots until they are just tender in order for them to be throughly cooked in the pie. Original review: Ok, this was delicious! Could use more liquid (what can I say, I'm a gravy person!) and I used two potatos instead of one just to bulk it up a bit. Also added mushrooms. I added half a teaspoon of salt and because of my son had to leave out most of the onion. It is a bit heavy on the garlic but we love garlic so that didnt phase us. Just tone the garlic down a bit if you dont like it as much. I would highly recommend this recipe. Delicious how it is but easy to tweek!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I was a little wary of 1/2 tsp. garlic powder, but this recipe got good reviews so I put it in. BIG mistake! This has so much garlic flavour it's terrible. If you make this, please, please go with your instinct and put less garlic in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicoline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
First time making meat pie and it was good. I didn't have any beef broth on hand, so I used chicken boullion with a little bit of soy sauce and worcestershire sauce as a substitute, it had a very similar taste/color to beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookfresh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I made this as written, using cooked ground beef. I ran out of time to prepare a pastry so I made dumplings and it went over really well. Will make it again using the pastry topping. Or I may cut the pastry into serving sizes, bake it and place a piece on each serving of the dish. I thought the amount of oregano might overwhelm but it didn't. I did add some salt and am glad I did. I also used fresh minced garlic instead of garlic powder. Good comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This was excellent! I used ground beef rather than left over beef and added more salt/garlic powder as needed. I also added some cayenne pepper for a kick and a small bunch of fresh parsley. I used a frozen crust from Trader Joes to save on time. This was very very good and I will be making it again for sure. This is very easy to customize depending on what you have on hand in the fridge. Thank you for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Good base recipe but needed more peas. The second time I made this I just ended up making more of everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwenfron
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This was terriffic! A wonderful way to use my leftover potroast, even dried-out and over cooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailorspouse

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Catania, Sicilia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
A simple and tasty recipe for classic homey meatpie. It's also fairly versatile, I often use the same recipe to make chicken pie. Just replace the beef with chicken, and the beef broth with chicken broth, and change up the seasonings a bit. I definitely recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hayley H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux Lookout, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Love this pie. I have made it many times and its now a family favourite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States