Good Old Meat Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Good base recipe but needed more peas. The second time I made this I just ended up making more of everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwenfron
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This was terriffic! A wonderful way to use my leftover potroast, even dried-out and over cooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailorspouse

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Catania, Sicilia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
A simple and tasty recipe for classic homey meatpie. It's also fairly versatile, I often use the same recipe to make chicken pie. Just replace the beef with chicken, and the beef broth with chicken broth, and change up the seasonings a bit. I definitely recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hayley H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux Lookout, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Love this pie. I have made it many times and its now a family favourite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Used two med. size potatoes, 2 carrots, and leftover prime rib roast. Also did a double crust pie. Added about a cup of leftover gravy also. Very good, hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This was just okay, but a great starter recipe, don't be afraid to try it. For us the oregano overwhelmed the pie, leaving it out next time. Added mushrooms. Probably more veggies too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 52GLASSACT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harlowton, Montana, USA
Living In: Sumner, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Very good and easy. I doubled the veggies and doubled the sauce. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
This was wonderful. I did make some changes but only because I'm weird that way. I added 2 garlic cloves to the onions and potatoes. I added a bottom crust. I also added some mushrooms and left out the oregano. I loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
This meat pie has now become a standard in our house. My 13 yr old son loves to take the leftovers for lunch. The pie is perfect as is even though I've changed it up depending on what ingredients I have on hand. I've used browned ground beef, leftover turkey, and chicken successfully too. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
my family absolutely loved this. i made it with cooked ground beef, because that's all i had on hand. i increased the sauce (my family like lots of sauce) and used potatoes, onions, carrots - peas don't go over well here. when i first took it out of the oven, i found that the potatoes were a bit undercooked, but when my dad ate after it sat on the stove for a few minutes, he said it was all thoroughly cooked. next time, i'm going to increase the amount of potatoes and vegetable, adding some more varieties. overall this recipe was so easy to make and everyone really loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States