Good Old Meat Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I used a pound of ground beef, fried it up with diced onion, added some thyme w/seasonings shown here and a splash of worcestershire, added diced potatoe/onion from dairy aisle, frozen vege blend (whatever you have will work fine), used a can of beef broth and sprinkled in a bit of flour to thicken. Poured it all in my deep dish pie plate and covered with crust as called for. Next time I'd do a top AND bottom crust...needed a bit more of it for our tastes... all in all, a simple, cheap, fast n easy meal that fed us for a couple of days. Leftovers just as good-if not better than day one. thanks for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Good recipe. Husband thought it could use a bit more zip, but I thought it was quite good the way it was. I added some celery instead of the peas. Even our picky two year old ate some!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katieba

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I thought this was pretty good. I added some ingredients though: extra potatoes, carrots, peas, spices and red wine in place of some of the beef broth. I used stew beef because it's what I had on hand and I think ground beef or a more tender cut of meat would be better. I brushed the top of the crust with beaten egg,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This sounded good but my family didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
i used leftover moose roast, along with the potatoes, mushrooms and onions i used to cook the roast with. Also added some leftover corn. i made my crust with the recipe on the tenderflake container. very filling could use some more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blenheim, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Wheatley, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This was really good, but I couldn't give this 5 stars because this needs salt (and I'm not a salt fanatic by any means). Also, my carrots were still crunchy, so next time I will saute them with the onion and potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
FANTASTIC! easy and super tasty recipe.my husband is an avid hunter so i used some top round moose steaks instead,and what a dish this turned out to be everyone in my family begged for more and now i am making mini meat pies to freeze and giving them out for x-mas gifts :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nadina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
freakin' awesome...so comforting and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
This was good and fairly quick to make, though i added a bit of extra spice which was a good thing in the end or it would have been somewhat bland for our tastes anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MRS. SHOCKLEY
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I thought I'd update to say I've now made this with chicken, and it was just as good as beef. We have taken to microwaving the diced potatoes and the carrots until they are just tender in order for them to be throughly cooked in the pie. Original review: Ok, this was delicious! Could use more liquid (what can I say, I'm a gravy person!) and I used two potatos instead of one just to bulk it up a bit. Also added mushrooms. I added half a teaspoon of salt and because of my son had to leave out most of the onion. It is a bit heavy on the garlic but we love garlic so that didnt phase us. Just tone the garlic down a bit if you dont like it as much. I would highly recommend this recipe. Delicious how it is but easy to tweek!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States