Good Old Meat Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2002
AWESOME! this recipe is easy to follow and tastes great. if you're looking for an old fashioned country style dish that sticks to your ribs this is it. i did add a teaspoon of salt with the other spices. filled a ten inch pie pan perfectly and looks so pretty when it's done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
Agreed! This is awesome and easy! I used leftover sirloin steak and mushroom marsala sauce. Add estra potatoes and other veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Sheets

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
my family absolutely loved this. i made it with cooked ground beef, because that's all i had on hand. i increased the sauce (my family like lots of sauce) and used potatoes, onions, carrots - peas don't go over well here. when i first took it out of the oven, i found that the potatoes were a bit undercooked, but when my dad ate after it sat on the stove for a few minutes, he said it was all thoroughly cooked. next time, i'm going to increase the amount of potatoes and vegetable, adding some more varieties. overall this recipe was so easy to make and everyone really loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MRS. SHOCKLEY
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I thought I'd update to say I've now made this with chicken, and it was just as good as beef. We have taken to microwaving the diced potatoes and the carrots until they are just tender in order for them to be throughly cooked in the pie. Original review: Ok, this was delicious! Could use more liquid (what can I say, I'm a gravy person!) and I used two potatos instead of one just to bulk it up a bit. Also added mushrooms. I added half a teaspoon of salt and because of my son had to leave out most of the onion. It is a bit heavy on the garlic but we love garlic so that didnt phase us. Just tone the garlic down a bit if you dont like it as much. I would highly recommend this recipe. Delicious how it is but easy to tweek!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Used two med. size potatoes, 2 carrots, and leftover prime rib roast. Also did a double crust pie. Added about a cup of leftover gravy also. Very good, hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
A simple and tasty recipe for classic homey meatpie. It's also fairly versatile, I often use the same recipe to make chicken pie. Just replace the beef with chicken, and the beef broth with chicken broth, and change up the seasonings a bit. I definitely recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hayley H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux Lookout, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Very similar to our Canadian Meat Pie. Substitute the cooked/leftover beef for ground pork and ground beef. Saute until cooked complete the way this recipe does it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TrueNorthCook
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
I would NOT recommend cubed beef for this recipe but stirfry beef or something slender. Aside from that this was SO TASTY i doubled veg like other reviewers and added crust on the bottom for true pie effect. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrueNorthCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2004
I have made this recipe so many times! It is a family favorite, I've made it for friends and family and they all love it. I do add more potatos and carrot in it and sometimes if I have left over gravy I put it in too. I have also made this recipe with stew pork meat and stew beef mixed together and it was very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUBYSCOOBY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
First time making meat pie and it was good. I didn't have any beef broth on hand, so I used chicken boullion with a little bit of soy sauce and worcestershire sauce as a substitute, it had a very similar taste/color to beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookfresh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States