Good Old Meat Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
This is a great way to use up left over beef, but as written, it just wasn't beefy enough for us. I added a couple of beef bouillon cubes, more black pepper and garlic, and also some snipped fresh rosemary. I used some cornstarch and water to thicken it up more. With a little bit of red wine, it would have been even better. We enjoyed it though. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
This turned out absolutely amazingly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BluJaysGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
Absolutely gorgeous!! I also added capsicum and sauteed the vegies in no oil salad dressing for extra flavour and let it simmer on the stove for a couple of hours before putting into pastry ( cant help tweaking recipes! ) Definitely adding to our regular family recipes-the night after we have a slow cooker roast!! MMMMMMMMMMMMMM :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
Good flavor, although it could use a touch more salt. Nice hot, stick to your bones meal that uses up the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2004
I have made this recipe so many times! It is a family favorite, I've made it for friends and family and they all love it. I do add more potatos and carrot in it and sometimes if I have left over gravy I put it in too. I have also made this recipe with stew pork meat and stew beef mixed together and it was very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUBYSCOOBY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
I think with some creative adjustments this could be a good receipe. I used two pie shells - one on top and bottom which was a good addition. The seasoning needs some help; I wasn't sure what it needed. The veggies definitely needed more cooking; they were pretty raw. Mushrooms would be a good addition too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
Agreed! This is awesome and easy! I used leftover sirloin steak and mushroom marsala sauce. Add estra potatoes and other veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Sheets

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2002
AWESOME! this recipe is easy to follow and tastes great. if you're looking for an old fashioned country style dish that sticks to your ribs this is it. i did add a teaspoon of salt with the other spices. filled a ten inch pie pan perfectly and looks so pretty when it's done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-48 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States