Good Old Meat Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This was a home run dinner. Everyone loved it. Personally I wish I had put a little more sauce broth/flour in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blake Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TrueNorthCook
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
I would NOT recommend cubed beef for this recipe but stirfry beef or something slender. Aside from that this was SO TASTY i doubled veg like other reviewers and added crust on the bottom for true pie effect. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrueNorthCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
This turned out really well - I never would have thought of making the sauce like that. I made it with leftover pork roast and homemade top/bottom crust as my family prefers that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Excellent. I had left over beef from Christmas dinner and chopped that up. Diced that and the carrots and potato into small cubes, and added a small can of drained mushrooms. Also didn't have garlic powder on hand, so I used garlic salt. It was delicious. My husband really loved it. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
This is a great way to use up left over beef, but as written, it just wasn't beefy enough for us. I added a couple of beef bouillon cubes, more black pepper and garlic, and also some snipped fresh rosemary. I used some cornstarch and water to thicken it up more. With a little bit of red wine, it would have been even better. We enjoyed it though. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
This turned out absolutely amazingly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BluJaysGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
Absolutely gorgeous!! I also added capsicum and sauteed the vegies in no oil salad dressing for extra flavour and let it simmer on the stove for a couple of hours before putting into pastry ( cant help tweaking recipes! ) Definitely adding to our regular family recipes-the night after we have a slow cooker roast!! MMMMMMMMMMMMMM :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
Good flavor, although it could use a touch more salt. Nice hot, stick to your bones meal that uses up the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2004
I have made this recipe so many times! It is a family favorite, I've made it for friends and family and they all love it. I do add more potatos and carrot in it and sometimes if I have left over gravy I put it in too. I have also made this recipe with stew pork meat and stew beef mixed together and it was very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUBYSCOOBY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
I think with some creative adjustments this could be a good receipe. I used two pie shells - one on top and bottom which was a good addition. The seasoning needs some help; I wasn't sure what it needed. The veggies definitely needed more cooking; they were pretty raw. Mushrooms would be a good addition too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States