Good Old Meat Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I was a little wary of 1/2 tsp. garlic powder, but this recipe got good reviews so I put it in. BIG mistake! This has so much garlic flavour it's terrible. If you make this, please, please go with your instinct and put less garlic in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicoline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
First time making meat pie and it was good. I didn't have any beef broth on hand, so I used chicken boullion with a little bit of soy sauce and worcestershire sauce as a substitute, it had a very similar taste/color to beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookfresh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I made this as written, using cooked ground beef. I ran out of time to prepare a pastry so I made dumplings and it went over really well. Will make it again using the pastry topping. Or I may cut the pastry into serving sizes, bake it and place a piece on each serving of the dish. I thought the amount of oregano might overwhelm but it didn't. I did add some salt and am glad I did. I also used fresh minced garlic instead of garlic powder. Good comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This was excellent! I used ground beef rather than left over beef and added more salt/garlic powder as needed. I also added some cayenne pepper for a kick and a small bunch of fresh parsley. I used a frozen crust from Trader Joes to save on time. This was very very good and I will be making it again for sure. This is very easy to customize depending on what you have on hand in the fridge. Thank you for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Good base recipe but needed more peas. The second time I made this I just ended up making more of everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwenfron
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This was terriffic! A wonderful way to use my leftover potroast, even dried-out and over cooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailorspouse

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Catania, Sicilia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
A simple and tasty recipe for classic homey meatpie. It's also fairly versatile, I often use the same recipe to make chicken pie. Just replace the beef with chicken, and the beef broth with chicken broth, and change up the seasonings a bit. I definitely recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hayley H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux Lookout, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Love this pie. I have made it many times and its now a family favourite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Used two med. size potatoes, 2 carrots, and leftover prime rib roast. Also did a double crust pie. Added about a cup of leftover gravy also. Very good, hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This was just okay, but a great starter recipe, don't be afraid to try it. For us the oregano overwhelmed the pie, leaving it out next time. Added mushrooms. Probably more veggies too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 52GLASSACT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harlowton, Montana, USA
Living In: Sumner, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States