Good Old Meat Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2015
I used ground beef because that's all I had for beef. Added a little bit more beef broth and added some spice. family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
This was super yummy, hearty winter pie! I've made it more than once and it is always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Loved this, though I ended up changing over half the recipe. I used this one as a starting point/inspiration since I'd never cooked a meat pie before and decided I wanted to, after I realized I had all the right leftovers. I subbed chicken for beef (I had most of a leftover rotisserie chicken.) subbed Chicken broth for beef broth. ('cause, chicken) Subbed butter for margarine (seriously? margarine is gross. Who still uses that ??) Also, since I'd used a low sodium broth, I went ahead and added in some celery salt to help offset the flavor. Also, some fresh parsley, 'cause I had it. I used all the same veggies as per the recipe, but I also dumped in a bunch of leftover steamed veggies (mix of carrots, broccoli, califlower, yellow squash) and some leftover mushrooms in a broth. Added in more chicken broth than it called for, along with all the liquid from the mushroom broth, and let the whole thing simmer a lot longer. Also used far less flour than called for, since I'd let a lot of the liquid evaporate off. All in all, it was super tasty! A big hit too, with le husband. I am planning to cook a leg of lamb next week, so I may try a lamb pie with the leftovers. Will also try the dough from scratch rather than pre-made dough. Edit: Oh yeah, I also omitted pepper and added ground mustard seed. Also used fresh garlic instead of garlic powder. Lol, forget it... I pretty much ended up changing the entire thing. lolol. Still, super yummy though. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
I love this recipe! I have made it twice, both times using a sweet potato in place of a regular potato. It fills you up without making you feel bloated. I also used lamb meat the second time, which was good. You can throw in other veggies too, like broccoli and corn. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bluffton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Tasted good and was easily prepared. I followed the recipe exactly and found it to be too thick and dry. I will try it again but next time I will use far less flour, half the amount called for. Thanks for sharing Dan Poplawski.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Nixed the garlic powder. Added some extra veggies, Worcestershire and fresh thyme. Very good. Will be making it double crust next time as was suggested by some of the reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee-Anne Assaad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This was very, very good! I made it with leftover lamb that we had on Easter Sunday. I used 3 cloves of garlic instead of garlic powder, and I also added thyme and rosemary for seasoning. Like some others, I sauted the vegetables first and put everything into a double crust before baking. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Tried this one last night and we enjoyed it very much -- nice and filling, especially in this frigid weather we're seeing in the midwest right now! Also, it reminded me of the meat pies that my English grandmother made for us. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myrrhnash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Loved this easy recipe! I used 1 clove fresh minced garlic added to the onion potato mixture just before the onions were tender. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious! Great way to use up leftover roast beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Old_Git
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
I loved making this and it turned out savory and delicious!I chose to forgo the use of beef broth, instead I used good ole English Bisto gravy mix and two cubes of OXO. My family adores garlic so I used 3 teaspoons of fresh garlic (its okay to use that much if everyone loves it, that way EVERYONE has bad breath!) The pie was lucious in the middle like a beef stew wrapped in a flaky pie crust shell. I also made my own top and bottom pie shell. We also had oven roasted Brussles. It was DEVINE! The leftovers I wrapped in the left over pie crust and made some pasties for work the next day. I would certainly make this again in a heartbeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States