Good Old Meat Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Nixed the garlic powder. Added some extra veggies, Worcestershire and fresh thyme. Very good. Will be making it double crust next time as was suggested by some of the reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee-Anne Assaad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This was very, very good! I made it with leftover lamb that we had on Easter Sunday. I used 3 cloves of garlic instead of garlic powder, and I also added thyme and rosemary for seasoning. Like some others, I sauted the vegetables first and put everything into a double crust before baking. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Tried this one last night and we enjoyed it very much -- nice and filling, especially in this frigid weather we're seeing in the midwest right now! Also, it reminded me of the meat pies that my English grandmother made for us. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myrrhnash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Loved this easy recipe! I used 1 clove fresh minced garlic added to the onion potato mixture just before the onions were tender. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious! Great way to use up leftover roast beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Old_Git
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
I loved making this and it turned out savory and delicious!I chose to forgo the use of beef broth, instead I used good ole English Bisto gravy mix and two cubes of OXO. My family adores garlic so I used 3 teaspoons of fresh garlic (its okay to use that much if everyone loves it, that way EVERYONE has bad breath!) The pie was lucious in the middle like a beef stew wrapped in a flaky pie crust shell. I also made my own top and bottom pie shell. We also had oven roasted Brussles. It was DEVINE! The leftovers I wrapped in the left over pie crust and made some pasties for work the next day. I would certainly make this again in a heartbeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Very tasty, I used cubed stew meat and Crisco's pie crust recipe. I found that 1/3c flour made a very pasty gravy, next time I would use 1/4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I used a pound of ground beef, fried it up with diced onion, added some thyme w/seasonings shown here and a splash of worcestershire, added diced potatoe/onion from dairy aisle, frozen vege blend (whatever you have will work fine), used a can of beef broth and sprinkled in a bit of flour to thicken. Poured it all in my deep dish pie plate and covered with crust as called for. Next time I'd do a top AND bottom crust...needed a bit more of it for our tastes... all in all, a simple, cheap, fast n easy meal that fed us for a couple of days. Leftovers just as good-if not better than day one. thanks for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Good recipe. Husband thought it could use a bit more zip, but I thought it was quite good the way it was. I added some celery instead of the peas. Even our picky two year old ate some!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katieba

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I thought this was pretty good. I added some ingredients though: extra potatoes, carrots, peas, spices and red wine in place of some of the beef broth. I used stew beef because it's what I had on hand and I think ground beef or a more tender cut of meat would be better. I brushed the top of the crust with beaten egg,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This sounded good but my family didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States