Good Old Fashioned Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
This is my go to recipe for pancakes. I love how fluffy these pancakes come out. I have made it exactly as the recipe dictates, but felt that there was too much salt and baking powder. Which left a weird aftertaste. After some tweaking I was able to get rid of that. I just reduced the salt to 1/2 teaspoon and the baking powder to 2 teaspoons. And because hubby wanted more butter I increased the butter to 4 tablespoons and added 1/4 teaspoon of vanilla extract. This also helped thin out the batter some as the original recipe yielded a much thicker batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
Made this recipe today, with the only change being the use of almond milk instead of regular milk. I was a little worried what this change might do to the recipe, so I tasted the first one off the griddle. They turned out absolutely wonderfully. I made NO other changes to the recipe, and it turned out better than I ever remember pancakes being! Definitely try this recipe, AS IS, before you make any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
Once you make them, there's no going back to packaged ingredients. This recipe is wonderful. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
I've made this countless times now. Perfect recipe, perfect results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
Measured exactly and when mixing it came out like bread dough. Had to add more milk and some water. Tasted good in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Veronica Mirenda
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
This is our new go to pancake recipe so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica Mirenda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
I made these following the recipe with one change the amt of salt I reduced to 1/2 teaspoon only because I need to watch my salt intake. The pancakes were tender and light. Good basic recipe which can be tweaked to each families taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
Sometime ago, we gave up eating processed foods, opting for making dishes from scratch. These are fantastic! I wasn't a huge pancake fan until I started making this one. The box mixes are awful and one of the reasons I didn't care for pancakes. These mix up and when cooked they are the perfect combination of what I expect a pancake to be...moist, puffy and delicious. The only thing I add is a little bit of vanilla extract, however that's my choice. These are absolutely amazing and now our go to for a pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by islandgirlejfan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ferndale, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
I made recipe as described, except added 1/4 less salt and swapped a half the sugar out for vanilla sugar. I did enjoy these but I would reduce the salt even more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
I tried making this and when eating it, it was way too salty for my taste. The aftertaste of the pancake was also terrible, I just couldn't eat it. I think that maybe if you would limit the salt then the pancakes would taste way better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 7,315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make one of our top 5 most popular recipes!

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States