Good Old Fashioned Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Love, love, love it. Sucks waking up Sunday morning and no more pancake mix insight. Thank god for Google and all recipes. I found this to be simple, easy to make and tasty!!! I read the reviews and took a Little advice and added 1/2 to of vanilla extract!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
these are the most perfect pancakes ever! First, some tips – when melting butter I never melt all that the recipe calls for. I typically reserve about a third and stir that in after the two thirds has melted. That brings the temperature down, and I'm not stuck waiting for the butter to cool. Second, I think a lot of people that come to sites like this are new to cooking. If so, I suggest you follow the recipe exactly as written the first time you make it. The reason this recipe calls for 3 1/2 teaspoons of baking powder is so that the pancakes are light and airy. They were! Sifting the dry ingredients is also important. Again, directed at the new cooks, lightly beat the egg, add it to the milk, then add that to the cooled to room temp butter, then follow the recipe directions. , This is really important – do not overmix the batter! Remixing will leave you with flat, tough pancakes. After it is mixed, those "lumps "are more likely air, which is a good thing. I added about a half teaspoon vanilla, but it certainly is not necessary. These are delicious, and come out perfectly if you follow the recipe the way it is written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Made these for my picky son. He (and everyone else) loved them! I added blueberries in some and chocolate chips in some. Even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
it was very good but it was a little watery but i still loved it!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
I love it! its delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
These are amazing pancakes the butter is a great!!!! idea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
A bit salty, next time definitely less salt and maybe a little vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Use a Tbsp of vanilla extract and 2 tbsp of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Graysen Dale

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Gluten/Dairy Free Version: This is a great recipe but unfortunately I am gluten/lactose intolerant and need to make a few substitutions, but it's so easy! I substitute the flour for the gluten free flour blend I make and store for all of my baking (2 cups White Rice flour, 3/4 cup Potato Starch & 1/4 cup Tapioca Flour). Also I add 1/2 tsp of Xantham Gum (this helps keep the mixture together which is needed with the absence of gluten.) For the milk I use skim lactose free milk, however I use 2 cups because I find the mixture to be too thick. I would start with 1 & 1/2 cups milk and add more to your liking. I also use a gluten-free baking powder. The other changes I make to the recipe that have nothing to do with my gluten/lactose intolerance are: bring the egg to room temp, warm the milk & add 1 tsp of vanilla. Oh and of course chocolate chips :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I am not a big pancake person, but these were good. I am VERY sensitive to salt, and didn't think these were salty at all. I added a 1/4 more milk, as one of the cooks suggested, so the batter was thinner. I guess it's whatever you get used to. I thought these were fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 6,762) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make one of our top 5 most popular recipes!

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States