Good Ol' Alabama Sweet Tea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Use it all the time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
WAY too much sugar. Needs to be toned down in a big way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KtBug831

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cascade, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
My boyfriend is a NC native and loves his sweet tea. The only change I made was I added less cold water to the final step, about 1.5 cups instead of 3. I only get about 3 qts of sweet tea total. As soon as I am finished making it I put it immediately in the fridge. This is also very good with lemonade to make awesome Arnold Palmer's! The niece and nephews love those.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Love super sweet tea so I did use the amount of sugar called for..yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Note: this recipe is for a gallon not a 1/2 gallon...married to an Alabama boy and this ratio is right for Alabama Sweet Tea. (2c to the gallon). Interestingly, this is the same ratio for Kool-Aid and McDonalds Sweet Tea. Another thing is the importance of mixing the sugar in with the HOT tea then chilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
This is some awesome sweet tea! But you comment bout not finding something this "GOOD" north of the mason dixion is a joke! i am a proud Iowa girl & my sweet tea is better than this!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
This how I've been making my swet tea for years. 3-2-1. 3 family size tea bags, 2c sugar, 1 quart water. I bring the water just to a boil turn off the heat and add tea bags. After removing I dissolve the sugar in the hot tea and pour the 1 quart of liquid into a 1/2 gallon or gallon container filled with ice. Those who say its too sweet; you serve iced tea over a glasss full of ice so it dilutes it quite a bit. If you cut the sugar too much in the beginning it will be very diluted by the time it gets to the glass
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Oh my...I'm from Mississippi and I even think this is way too much sugar. It tastes great with one cup! Other than that, its a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I cut the sugar to 1 and 1/4 cup and added it to the tea in the pot, then added 2 caps of lemon juice. I let it come to room temp, then poured the mixture over lemon slices and chilled in the fridge for 1 hour. I served at a party and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I made this for a friend's wedding and her new in-laws were from Tennesse. They were all impressed and said it tasted very authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 7 Garcias

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Provincetown, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States