Good Ol' Alabama Sweet Tea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
This is our favorite tea. I had a hard time finding Orange Pekoe...but finally found it at an Asian Grocery and then in bulk at Cash and Carry. You can taylor the sugar to your own taste. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
This is the only way I can make tea now. I LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
add a pinch of baking soda to make the tea extra smooth! it really works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
scaled it down a bit... very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampere, Pirkanmaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
This tea is awesome. My 5 yr old always adds so much sugar so I tried this out and I am so glad I did. I only added 1 1/4 cup of sugar and I used 3 family size tea bags of regular tea. I then threw in 3 bags of raspberry zinger celestial seasonings and the hint of raspberry is awesome. Next time I will try it with the orange tangerine and the balck cherry flavors. But, even without the flavorings I know that this is a bomb tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ITALIANMOMOF3;)

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Perfect!!! I have had a hard time trying to make the tea I grew up drinking.This is it.Thank you,could give you a hug.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
I give it a 5 because there just isn't any substitute for good, ol' Southern sweet tea! As with other reviewers, I also don't like mine quite this sweet, and a good bit stronger, so I use 8 regular sized Lipton tea bags and 1 cup sugar, to make 1 gallon of tea. If I have folks coming over that don't do sugar, I will make it without, but have a container of simple syrup made and ready (2 cups sugar dissolved in 1 cup hot/boiling water) so that each person who wants can then sweeten to their individual tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I followed the advice of others, and reduced the sugar to 1 1/2c. It was still VERY sweet, but the tea flavor was the perfect strength. Next time I will go with 1 1/4c sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colonie, New York, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
Personally, I'm not a fan of Iced Tea. But last summer I told some friends who was relocating from another city that I would take care of lunch for their moving crew. I knew that several in the group liked tea, so I thought I'd give it a try. I've made it several times since. I've always used the non-flavored tea bags, so I slice a lemon and put the lemon slices in the tea to add a little flavor. My Dad is Diabetic and loves Iced Tea - so for our Father's Day cookout last year I substituted the Sugar with Splenda, so that he could enjoy a glass of Sweet Tea - and it again turned out great. (according to him) I won't use any other recipe or canned mix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
being from the south myself, a lot of people don't know that TRUE southern sweet tea, is just that, sweet...and that's just way it should be....this recipe is absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pcook67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spicewood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States