Good Ol' Alabama Sweet Tea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This tea was wonderful but I did cut the sugar to a little over one cup. The only problem I had was when I poured the boiling water into the glass pitcher it cracked. Thinking it was an old pitcher I bought a new one and the same thing happen again. So I now disolve the sugar in the pan of hot tea and when that cools I pour it into a glass pitcher. NOTE: I only use a stainless steel pan to make my tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATWEIGAND
Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
I'm a southern girl through and through and I loved this tea! My husband thought it was too sweet for him though. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
Would be 5 stars if the recipe toned down the sugar a bit. I used 1-1/2 cups and even think I can get away with making it with 1-1/4 cups. 2 cups to me would be way too sweet. I didn't have family size tea bags and used 4 regular size. UPDATE- My Bf is in love with this tea he said its the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN_77

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Anyone in the Souoth knows that sweet tea is the ONLY tea! However 2 cups of sugar for 1/2 gallon of tea is TOO much.(You don't want syrup) Cut the sugar by half, at least and you will have good tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
This was so good! I only made a 2-quart pitcher, so I used 2 tea bags and 1 cup of sugar and it was perfect! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
My daughter and I love this tea. Make no mistake, this tea is heavy on the sweet! I've cut the sugar down to 1 1/2 cups and *still* get a very sweet, tasty tea. Don't worry if you don't have orange-pekoe tea on hand - I've made this using 7 regular sized Liptons Natural Tea and the results were very still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPECK03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Jensen Beach, Florida, USA
Photo by CandiceSteele
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
This makes authentic, southern iced tea...so authentic I had to cut the sugar down to one cup. For the best results, use Luzianne brand tea bags and add a wedge of lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CandiceSteele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Higashi-Omi, Shiga, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
Thank GOODNESS for this recipe! My husband and I moved from Tennessee to Illinois 3 years ago and can't get a glass of sweet tea ANYWHERE up here! If we take a sip of this sweet tea and close our eyes, we could almost believe we were back in Knoxville! I did cut back the sugar to 1 1/2 C, maybe because I've been living above the Mason-Dixon too long :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Superior, Montana, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
This was a God sent .....We lived in ,Wiconsin. A person can't find a great glass of tea anywhere.This recipe was an everyday thing!...No wonder why Wisconsonites drink so much beer. We're back in the South and we'll continue this recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caspian, Michigan, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
VERY GOOD!!!! I am from the mountains of North Carolina and we LOVE sweet tea here! This is the best sweet tea that I have ever had! Thank you SO MUCH for this recipe! I will be making this again and again!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States