Good Ol' Alabama Sweet Tea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
I disagree with users who have said this recipe is too sweet. As North Carolina born & bred, this is the recipe I remember from church gatherings and lunch at grandmother's house from my youth. You have to follow the recipe exactly as stated - no cutting corners. Only use Family Size teabags; I find that Lipton 100% Natural (Special Brew for Sweet Tea) gives the best flavor. I use a PLASTIC 2 gallon pitcher. It won't break. After boiling the water, removing from heat, adding tea bags, letting them steep for 5 minutes, remove tea bags, bring back to just boiling, add to pitcher with sugar, stir, then instead of adding more water, I just fill it to the top with ice cubes. Delicious. My family of 5 can finish the whole pitcher in one day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Family loves it! It does call for a lot of sugar but that's what makes it so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I love this receipe!!! A little too sweet so I just cut back on the sugar. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
A hint to the woman who cracked her glass pitchers-- my grandmother taught me to always place a stainless steel knife in the pitcher before pouring boiling water in it. It diffuses the heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I always keep a couple of Ball Jars on hand. Mix the hot water with sugar in the jar while the tea steeps and the add everything to the pitcher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This recipe was a nice addition to our annual Canada Day BBQ. We did reduce the sugar to 3/4 cup and for an added twist added some fresh mint leaves from our garden along with a touch of vanilla extract and a few lemon slices. What I enjoyed most about this recipe was the building of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Lyde

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
As an Alabama boy, born and bred, I can attest to the authenticity of this recipe. Just how grandma makes it! Several people have said the amount of sugar called for makes the tea too sweet, but when served in a tall iced tea glass filled with ice (and maybe a lemon wedge) it comes out perfect. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
It was very good with 4 big bags. Following the above recipe's directions this is what works best for me: -1 gallon jug of "drinking water". Pour 2 cups off & save to top off, (needs room for 2 cups sugar) or use it for the ice cubes. -4 Family Size Teabags (I use 5 for decaffeinated) -Refrigerate if convenient till very cold. (That way it doesn't get watery from ice melting when served in a tall "iced tea glass".) So, 2 cups sugar is perfect for a GALLON of finished product! Note: Some areas in the south do make extremely sweet tea. But they generally add fresh squeezed lemon juice as well as the garnish of slices. You need the sugar then! PS: A gallon can be a lot for 1 person. Sweet tea in the refrigerator becomes cloudy after a few days. Sweeten, to taste, by the glass and it will easily stay clear and fresh for a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
My Alabama husband loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Thank you! This recipe is great but I attempted it and it was WAY to sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States