Good Ol' Alabama Sweet Tea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This recipe was a nice addition to our annual Canada Day BBQ. We did reduce the sugar to 3/4 cup and for an added twist added some fresh mint leaves from our garden along with a touch of vanilla extract and a few lemon slices. What I enjoyed most about this recipe was the building of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Lyde

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
As an Alabama boy, born and bred, I can attest to the authenticity of this recipe. Just how grandma makes it! Several people have said the amount of sugar called for makes the tea too sweet, but when served in a tall iced tea glass filled with ice (and maybe a lemon wedge) it comes out perfect. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
It was very good with 4 big bags. Following the above recipe's directions this is what works best for me: -1 gallon jug of "drinking water". Pour 2 cups off & save to top off, (needs room for 2 cups sugar) or use it for the ice cubes. -4 Family Size Teabags (I use 5 for decaffeinated) -Refrigerate if convenient till very cold. (That way it doesn't get watery from ice melting when served in a tall "iced tea glass".) So, 2 cups sugar is perfect for a GALLON of finished product! Note: Some areas in the south do make extremely sweet tea. But they generally add fresh squeezed lemon juice as well as the garnish of slices. You need the sugar then! PS: A gallon can be a lot for 1 person. Sweet tea in the refrigerator becomes cloudy after a few days. Sweeten, to taste, by the glass and it will easily stay clear and fresh for a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
My Alabama husband loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Thank you! This recipe is great but I attempted it and it was WAY to sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
The people being critical are not following the directions. As M TUBB states, 2 cups sugar is too much for a 1/2 gallon. The recipe makes 1 GALLON, not 1/2. You use 1/2 gallon water then add water at the end to fill the gallon jug. Please be mindful of what you are doing before you criticize
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Delicious! I generally use less sugar than called for. Everyone loves this tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Whoa!! Way too much sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dhumphrys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I use 1 1/2 cups sugar to 2 gallons of tea and it is plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
For those of you giving lesser ratings because of the sweetness, did you miss the part where it said "Southern" sweet tea? As a Southern girl, born and raised, I EXPECT it to me almost unbearably sweet. This tea was perfect. Thank you, poster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States