Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
First time i have cooked gumbo, I followed this recipe onion cayenne pepper oooooooowe!!!! This was so good a must try!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Great recipe! I didn't have the recommended time allotment for this recipe but was dying to try it anyway and it was still fantastic! I simply shortcut the later simmer stages. The roux I obviously had to make time to complete but all in all, I only simmered less than an hour. Makes enough to freeze leftover-----and it froze great, too! We've eaten the frozen portion and it was just as tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
This is delicious. I used chicken breast and sausage for the proteins, and after I made the roux I threw it all in the slow cooker for a total of 9 hours. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
I tried this recipe last night, it was definitely a success. I usually like a more of a seasoned taste, but it was still ideal for a various group of people (diabetics included). I did turn up the heat to cook it a little faster & I used crab-legs, but this is a great recipe. Its was soooo much better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
OMG - YUM!!!! I followed the recipe exactly except I used rice flour because I can't have gluten. SOOOOOOOOO good and flavorful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jstorment

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Not bad, but recipe needs tweaking, next time I make I will use butter instead of bacon fat, and less liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nygirlatheart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uniondale, New York, USA
Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Never made gumbo before but this recipe made me look like a champ! I added 2 cups of mushrooms and 3 cups of minute rice (precooked). Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Fantastic recipe!!!! I made this a day ahead so the flavors could mellow as others suggested and served over rice. I used fresh Andouille Sausage ( not smoked ) and chicken; no shrinp or crab. Homemade chicken stock instead of beef bullion.I didn't precook the okra, just thawed and added to the gumbo. I have also used smoked sausage but it is best with Andouille ( but a bit more pricey.)Love the flavor the bacon grease gives this,I will always make my roux this way from now on.I took a double batch made with smoked sausage and chicken to a meeting at work and everyone raved about it. My pot came home empty which is always a good sign.I purchase chicken leg quarters in a 10 lb. bag at WallMart ( $5.90 ) and boil then with some onion, celery and carrots. I had enough stock and chicken for this dish, chicken and dumplings, a small pot of chicken noodle soup and one chicken salad sandwich. Your family and friends will love this!!!! Thank you for sharing your recipe!oh, I served crusty bread and pecan pie with this for an unforgettable meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Made this on Fat Tuesday this year and it was a huge hit. I will definitely make it again. Maybe it was me, but my prep time was more than an hour, probably closer to 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Villa Hills, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by viviandp
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Oh my, oh my. This was SO AMAZING! I followed the recipe as much as I could. The only things different that I did: I didn't put any gumbo file powder (couldn't find it anywhere) and I put chicken thighs instead of crab meat. Seriously, it was so good, I can't believe I've never thought about making this before. Thank you so much for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by viviandp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States