Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This recipe makes delicious gravy. Seriously, this gumbo is like gravy soup, and it's amazing. I fudged it: -coconut oil and margarine instead of bacon grease -no file powder or tomato sauce -only cooked roux for 30 minutes because i ran out of time -final cooking only 30 minutes, not 1 1/2 hours AND IT WAS STILL WONDERFUL, I definitely recommend this recipe. Just throw whatever meat/veg you have in, too, it'll be great ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
best gumbo ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Great recipe! I'm from the South and my family always makes gumbo without tomatoes. I was looking for a different recipe and am glad I found this one. It's delicious! A note about making a roux - stop working so hard! You can make it in the oven and it is perfection - thanks Alton Brown. Whisk 4 oz all purpose flour and 4 oz veg oil in a cast iron skillet, place in a 350 degree oven for 1 1/2 hours, stirring every half hour. It comes out nice and dark and DOES NOT BURN!!! Once you remove the roux from the oven, follow the recipe directions by adding the celery, bell pepper, etc. and continue with the recipe. You're welcome. ;~) Oh, and those who are shaming the person who submitted the recipe for giving away a family recipe, get over yourselves! The submitter never says it was a secret family recipe, just that it was never written down. We all share recipes our families love, and I am thankful this gumbo recipe was shared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I have never rated a recipe before but this recipe deserve more than 5 stars. I lived in New Orleans for 2 years and I have been searching for a gumbo recipe that was as authentic as a what I tasted there. This is it. I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
This is a good basic recipe, however it should be made with a seafood stock rather than all the water and beef boullion cubes. Just take your shrimp shells and legs (I save them from other recipes also and freeze them so that I have a lot on hand), quarter an onion or 2, cut 3 stalks celery in thirds and add 4 quarts water. Simmer this for as long as possible (8 hours is best). Do it the day before and you will be ready to go. Also, do not add the shrimp and crab until the last 5 mins or so of cooking or they will be tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Perfect. Authentic flavor. I use a "store-bought" roux, authentically made in Broussard, Louisiana. If you can find some, it saves a whopping hour to an hour and a half! I put in 2 skinless, boneless chicken breasts,cut into bite-size chunks, Andouille sausage, blue crab chunks, and shrimp, of course. So-o-o-o good served in a bowl on a bed of brown rice with rustic, crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Bedford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Fantastic! I followed the recipe pretty close, and it was so good! I have one person that cannot handle much heat, so I avoided the Andouille and used smoked sausage instead. I also used chicken instead of the crab meat to make it more economical. The broth was to die for! I sampled a bit before adding the okra and I just had to keep going back for more! I had a hard time finding the file powder, but finally found it at one of the local grocery stores. I will definitely make this again! Thank you so much for sharing this great family recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I created an account to review this recipe. Phenomenal. This is some of the best gumbo I've ever had. Add some cayenne if you like. I threw the okra directly into the gumbo without cooking it in vinegar--I don't mind the extra thick viscosity at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
This is a good recipe, I love spicy foods and this recipe hit the spot. The only things I did differently was used only 1/4 of bacon drippings and used Canola oil for the rest,(I like my LDL levels low) I added Cayenne pepper and only used Shrimp and Andouille sausage. I took my time with the roux and cooked it under a medium heat, saw some reviews where they burned the roux. This allowed me time to prepare the other ingredients. It went great with rice and everyone loved it!! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay Dija

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Quinton Fussell
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This is a great recipe, make sure to take your time on the roux on medium low heat do not let it smoke, whisk until you get that deep brown color, it is crucial. I used 1 red and 1 yellow pepper and added a datil pepper in the mix and doubled up on the garlic. Serve with rice ,cornbread or straight up I used Louisiana hot sauce,Trappey's and sriracha, still not that spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States