Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
My mother and I made this for my father and fiancé for valentine's day. It was so good. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
I halved the recipe because there are only two of us, but it still made enough for 3 meals of 2 generous servings each. It was expensive, and not for those in a hurry, but we found it well worth the time and expense. I agree that the roux makes the dish, and it requires full attention from the cook. I will make this again! Oh, and I did substitute Kielbasa, but it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Too much bacon taste. Bacon drippings take the taste away from the seafood.....Otherwise good. I also didn't use beef bouillon cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Delicious! Comfort food all the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by InkBuddy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Yum!!! I'm from New Orleans currently living out of state, so I was looking for the best gumbo recipe to remind me of home and I hit the jackpot with this one! It took me much longer than 4 hours to make, but man was it worth it! I also substituted the crab for (boiled and pulled)chicken, because my favorite gumbo is chicken, adouille and shrimp. I double the recipe and made this for 30+ people and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I like spicy food so I rounded up the amount of Cajun spice. Big mistake that I won't do again. Did not want to pay for crab but did add tsp of Old Bay Seasoning. Great comfort food!,,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This was my first time making Gumbo I used fresh okra and followed the recipe closely. It turned out great!!!! I served it with rice and a side of potato salad and from what I have been reading onthe internet that is how it is served in Louisiana. Give a man a fish and you can feed him for a day. Teach a man how to fish and you can feed him for a lifetime. That is how I feel about you sharing this recipe. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMOSABBE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
excellent ! Used it, loved it, went over well with the whole family!! Making it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anthony

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Thank u so much for sharing this recipe, I made huge pot this weekend and it came out superb!!! I had family friends over who are foodies just like me and it was all the rave, everyone loved it!!!..it came out way better than I ever expected, the flavor was perfect!!! I can't wait to make it again, I will be passing this recipe on to everyone I know to keep the goodness going!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Totenbier Melanie
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
OMG! This came out fantastic! Not hard to make, just a lot of steps. Foodgirly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States