Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
This gumbo was fantastic! There are some ingredients in here that are a bit difficult to come by depending on your region... No bacon fat, so I fried up a few strips of bacon and used melted butter to fill in the rest of the volume. No okra, so I threw in about a half a can of Southern-Style green beans during the last 20 minutes or so of simmering. By choice I also used smoked andouille rather than fresh, and that I also threw in during the last 20 minutes or so. I stored in the refrigerator overnight and reheated the following night for a quick Mardi Gras dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
This was absolutely fabulous! The best gumbo I have ever tasted. My grandfather was a cook on a huge ship that traveled the world. Everytime he came home we celebrated with a big pot of gumbo. Our family loves it. Unfortunately, we never took down his recipie. I was looking for something that would be as good as his and I must say, this was even better (sorry grandpa). The flavors were perfect. We did the recipe to the T and I would not change a thing! Thank you so much for sharing your family recipie, it will now live on in our family for a long time to come. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I made this tonight with smoked kielbasa, 1 1/2 lbs chicken and 1 1/2 lbs shrimp. This made it a little more pocket friendly. I omitted the Worcestershire sauce only because I can't stand it. It still came out very yummy. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I made this for the 2013 Mardi Gras season for the first time and will make it again this year. It was one of the best gumbos I have ever made. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Best gumbo I've ever had. Made it as is but with chicken, sausage, and shrimp. Makes a large pot, so half the recipe if just a couple of ya or freeze the leftovers to enjoy later. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nat
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Wonderful recipe!!! Roux did take over an hour...so important to get a mahogany rich roux! Added extra lb of crab as well as extra okra. My family loved it!!! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Very very good! I made the roux as directed and it did take almost an hour to darken nicely. Meanwhile I brought 4 C of homemade chix stock + 2C water with the 3 tsps Jamisons beef paste to boil. Added the roux/sausage/veggie mix and then added all the other veggies once the roux was heated through. Served this luscious concoction over white rice to rave reviews! Also always make my own Cajun seasoning and added an extra tsp of Thyme. So Good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GABRIELLAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Mundelein, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
This was many time consuming steps, but worth every one! I was trying to duplicate a local dining rooms recipe and this was it! Can't believe it took me so long to find this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Yes ! My family loved it ... Agree the roux is the key...easy. Put this on you MUST try list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States