Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Wonderful recipe! I'm a Texan but my husband is from Louisiana and he loved it. I sliced boiled eggs and put them on top of each bowl of gumbo. Cooked roux longer and used a tad more Tony Chachere. Used fresh okra from my garden. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Alvin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Annie
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I used this recipe to make gumbo for the first time. It came out perfect! Just like how true gumbo suppose to taste like. Thank you so much for the awesome recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
It was my first attempt at gumbo....absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Better than awesome! followed everything to the tee, added 3 minced cloves of garlic, tossed fresh shrimp into a steamer pan and dipped it into the brew for 1 minute to cook. removed and let each person dish their rice, crab meat and shrimp into their bowl before spooning gumbo onto the pile. this way the rice and seafood never overcooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Revell Chasteen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I'm so happy I made sooo much! 20 servings for 2 people. I jarred and froze broth before adding the shrimp, crab and okra. Dinner tonight and 4 future nights! YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jpaul

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Oh my my my! This was a recipe for success! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Yes, I don't know how old your grandma & mother are. But I am sure the bacon fat they used, was not from the same pork we buy today. Also I am sure as true cajuns, they would have made their own stock. Not beef bullion cubes. Although it is a fantastic recipe, I think making your own stock would only improve the taste. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
This gumbo was fantastic! There are some ingredients in here that are a bit difficult to come by depending on your region... No bacon fat, so I fried up a few strips of bacon and used melted butter to fill in the rest of the volume. No okra, so I threw in about a half a can of Southern-Style green beans during the last 20 minutes or so of simmering. By choice I also used smoked andouille rather than fresh, and that I also threw in during the last 20 minutes or so. I stored in the refrigerator overnight and reheated the following night for a quick Mardi Gras dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
This was absolutely fabulous! The best gumbo I have ever tasted. My grandfather was a cook on a huge ship that traveled the world. Everytime he came home we celebrated with a big pot of gumbo. Our family loves it. Unfortunately, we never took down his recipie. I was looking for something that would be as good as his and I must say, this was even better (sorry grandpa). The flavors were perfect. We did the recipe to the T and I would not change a thing! Thank you so much for sharing your family recipie, it will now live on in our family for a long time to come. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I made this tonight with smoked kielbasa, 1 1/2 lbs chicken and 1 1/2 lbs shrimp. This made it a little more pocket friendly. I omitted the Worcestershire sauce only because I can't stand it. It still came out very yummy. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindie Giguere
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States