Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
This might be the best thing I've ever eaten. Definitely worth the care and time to create it. The only thing I do differently is instead of bacon drippings I use vegetable oil. Turns out fabulous! Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Awesome Recipe - it takes some time to prepare but this big pot of gumbo is definitely worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Good Gumbo recipe. My husband loved it. I halved the recipe since it's just the two of us. Since the ingredient list is extensive and expensive to buy in one trip to the grocery store, I bought a few things on each shopping trip over the course of a few weeks. Thank you for the recipe, I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Thank you for this delicious recipe. I can't stop eating this gumbo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Amazing! Only changes were cutting it in half, adding a little more water since our stove is really hot, and adding a little more shrimp instead of crabmeat. The shrimp melted like well cooked lobster, not at all tough like I thought 45 minutes of cooking would make them. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
This recipe is FANTASTIC!!! This is why I love love love allrecipes because there is no way I would have know how to cook gumbo this good. It comes out with the perfect amount of smoky, spicy, deliciousness. With the exception of being able to use butter instead on bacon grease, follow the recipe to the T the first time you make it. THEN see if you want to tweak anything to your family liking. Trust me ya won't be disappointed. Next time I make mine, I think I will leave out the salt and tabasco until the very end because the sausage I used was quite spicy on it's own. But my DH adored this and I'm eating a bowl now so, no complaints. Also, use the andouille sausages, they are a MUST! Thank you so much for sharing your family recipe, it will be a staple recipe of mine forever now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CourtneyJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Made it twice now, sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I've eaten a lot of gumbo over the years and this is the best recipe I've ever tried. I plan on adding more shrimp next time but that is the only change I would make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
My husband and I hosted a seafood boil for the 4th of July. I made gumbo using this recipe and everyone LOVED it! Thank you for sharing. I will DEFINITELY make this gumbo again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Great recipe with the roux from scratch! I used half the bacon drippings and added the canola oil to compensate. Turned out great! Making my second one tonight with crawfish and some crabs we brought back from Maryland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States