Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Demetrio-Vanessa Phillips
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This is an amazingly authentic recipe. My husband loved it so much I had to make it for Christmas AND New Year... Definitely going in my arsenal... Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
This is my first time giving a review...I felt obligated to give one. First let me say THANK YOU! Your awesome, authentic & very easy to follow Gumbo recipe saved my Christmas dinner. I wouldn't change anything about the recipe, my only suggestions...BEFORE BEGINNING...READ UP ON THE IMPORTANCE OF THE ROUX (it is crucial). I did add chunks of Costco Roasted Chicken (where i also bought my snow crab and hot links:) 30 min before done, fried okra in a separate pan & then add some of the soup to it to serve it up separately since some of my guests didn't not like okra. Now for those interested, my story...It took YEARS to get gradually (bit by bit) a gumbo recipe from my husband's Great Aunt Willa. I FINALLY achieved in what I thought to be a complete recipe after 13 years and had tweeked the recipe to my liking the last 7 years. I went to pull out the recipe card just to discover that either I misplaced it or one of my 6 children borrowed it without me knowing. So in my desperation I went to allrecipes.com and found this recipe that looked as close to Aunt Willas. I could get shunned for saying this but you should know...your recipe is BETTER! In Aunt Willa's defense, she never actually made it with me, she just described the details AND she probably explained the Roux part but didn't know the term so I never knew the color importance. I have to say, I'm glad I couldn't find my recipe card!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONENONLYMRSSTOKES

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
OMGGGG sooooooooooo goodddddddddddd I didn't change a thing grilled 2 chicken breast added to pot served over rice mmmmm WILL be making this one for now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Deliciousness. I made it 6 months ago for New Orleans natives & they liked it so much, I'm making it again! I made a chicken & sausage version tho & I know if I cooked my roux longer, it would've been a better color. Excellent recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
So, this summer, I went to Louisiana and had gumbo for the first time, and it was a revelation. This gumbo is just like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha Maximoff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Yes, this did take three hours. I was hoping to finish it all by two hours, but at the three hour mark the richness of the gumbo just infused the entire pot. My family went back for thirds. This recipe was way better than most of the gumbos that we tried in New Orleans. THIS is gumbo. I will be keeping this recipe around for a very long time. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
my husband and I have cooked this recipe already and shared it with a few friends it was given a 10/10.. I think it is a great recipe we are from Australia and thank you for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Lee Iacono

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This recipe is amazing. I made some tweaks (omitted file powder, used crawfish tails instead of shrimp, omitted tomato sauce and bay leaves), but this always turns out amazing. The only think you have to watch is the roux (bacon fat heats differently than oil). Delish! My husband requests this monthly. Well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Stef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Royalton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
super yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Poisson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westcliffe, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Looking for a great gumbo recipe? Stop looking and start cooking. I have made this several times now and every time I get rave reviews. One thing though be sure you have a really big pot as this will easily fill an 8 quart dutch oven to the brim. If you don't want to mess with tending the roux search the internet for "oven roux" and let your oven do the work for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States