Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I made this tonight with smoked kielbasa, 1 1/2 lbs chicken and 1 1/2 lbs shrimp. This made it a little more pocket friendly. I omitted the Worcestershire sauce only because I can't stand it. It still came out very yummy. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I made this for the 2013 Mardi Gras season for the first time and will make it again this year. It was one of the best gumbos I have ever made. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Best gumbo I've ever had. Made it as is but with chicken, sausage, and shrimp. Makes a large pot, so half the recipe if just a couple of ya or freeze the leftovers to enjoy later. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nat
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Wonderful recipe!!! Roux did take over an hour...so important to get a mahogany rich roux! Added extra lb of crab as well as extra okra. My family loved it!!! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Very very good! I made the roux as directed and it did take almost an hour to darken nicely. Meanwhile I brought 4 C of homemade chix stock + 2C water with the 3 tsps Jamisons beef paste to boil. Added the roux/sausage/veggie mix and then added all the other veggies once the roux was heated through. Served this luscious concoction over white rice to rave reviews! Also always make my own Cajun seasoning and added an extra tsp of Thyme. So Good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GABRIELLAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Mundelein, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
This was many time consuming steps, but worth every one! I was trying to duplicate a local dining rooms recipe and this was it! Can't believe it took me so long to find this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammie Zimmer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Yes ! My family loved it ... Agree the roux is the key...easy. Put this on you MUST try list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I made this for my better half as she's a gumbo consumption expert & critic. Was nervous but she loved it! Right color & flavor & I actually loved it also! Thanks!! It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I am from the Gulf Coast (Pensacola) and love gumbo, but have never made it. I did the research to find a recipe with a high rating and decided on this one to be my first. This recipe was wonderful!!!!! I did make a few substitutions and additions, though. Rather than 3 QTs water and beef bullion cubes I used 1 quart each of seafood and vegetable stock and 2 quarts of water. I needed more than the 3 quarts suggested because I added 3 diced chicken breasts (pan seared and then diced), 1 pound of lump crab meat, 1 pound of shrimp (peeled and deveined) and I doubled the sausage. My husband loves very hearty, meaty gumbo - so he absolutely LOVED this!! Thank you so much! I can't wait to make it again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Lorton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States