Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Middletown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I was able to cut an hour off the simmering time by cooking the okra longer in the skillet and putting it in earlier. Don't change the rue! Work up a sweat and just do it. I make a stock with turkey carcass or ham bone then put the shrimp shells in there. Kicks it up a notch. Substitute stock for water but still add beef bouillon. Don't forget to make rice and serve with French Bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Tried this recipe to celebrate New Year's (bringing in 2014). One word, EXCELLENT!!! I am from a family that has Louisiana roots. I am no stranger to gumbo as my mom makes one that is also excellent. However, I enjoy trying different versions. I am so glad I tried this one!! Everyone in my family enjoyed it - including my mother!! This is for sure a keeper!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I ended up trying 3/4 c bacon drippings and had to add another cup of flour. I was following another poster's suggestion to cook roux to very dark color and it ended up bitter :( Glad I did not add the expensive ingredients. Disappointed in time spent, but I will try again with 1/4 c bacon drippings tomorrow and research cooking roux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Thanks a million, truly a great recipe. I have cooked many many gumbo recipes. This one is one of the best I have followed. I did incorporate a few others in with this one. First, it took about an hour to make the roux at a lower heat in order to make a medium dark. Second,when adding the sausage, I added about a half a cup of home made tasso. I cut the Tabasco in half, because the extra spice in the tasso. Third, I cooked 2.5 lbs of snow crab in the 3 quarts of water, discarded only one quart and added 1 quart fresh water. Then followed with bullion. Authentic taste, one. .. If not the best I've made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Thank you sooo much for sharing this phenomenal recipe! I made it last year for New Years and my family loved it! Mind you, it was my first time attempting gumbo. It will be a tradition from now on, I'm excited about making it again this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I live in New Orleans and I wanted to cook gumbo like I should know how to cook because I live in NOLA. This was perfect. I used brown rice instead of regular flour to make it gluten free. Everyone I served it to absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
My hubby makes this recipe every Christmas! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tilli King Horsley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I made this Gumbo last Christmas and my family loved it.... thanks a bunch..........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Love LOVE this recipe! Will keep it for sure! My fave is shrimp and sausage gumbo! Had never made gumbo..even though I come from a family of Cajuns . Have made this recipe several times already...everyone LOVES it ! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoLyJa

Displaying results 31-40 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States