Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I was unimpressed. The took a lot of time and effort and had an overwhelming sausage flavor. I wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
A few years ago myself and I took a trip to New Orleans and we were fortunate to health authentic New Orleans gumbo this dish reminded me of the time when we were in New Orleans, it's a great dish! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Made this for my family today and it was a complete hit. Well worth the prep time. I too have experimented with several Gumbo recipes and this one tops them all. The best lesson learned is cooking the Okra with the vinegar; no slimy texture, very nice! I am looking forward to making this again for Mardi Gras! May even slip it in again before then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by farmand1
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Awesome!! Made it for New Years and everyone enjoyed....still eating it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Middletown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I was able to cut an hour off the simmering time by cooking the okra longer in the skillet and putting it in earlier. Don't change the rue! Work up a sweat and just do it. I make a stock with turkey carcass or ham bone then put the shrimp shells in there. Kicks it up a notch. Substitute stock for water but still add beef bouillon. Don't forget to make rice and serve with French Bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Tried this recipe to celebrate New Year's (bringing in 2014). One word, EXCELLENT!!! I am from a family that has Louisiana roots. I am no stranger to gumbo as my mom makes one that is also excellent. However, I enjoy trying different versions. I am so glad I tried this one!! Everyone in my family enjoyed it - including my mother!! This is for sure a keeper!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I ended up trying 3/4 c bacon drippings and had to add another cup of flour. I was following another poster's suggestion to cook roux to very dark color and it ended up bitter :( Glad I did not add the expensive ingredients. Disappointed in time spent, but I will try again with 1/4 c bacon drippings tomorrow and research cooking roux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Thanks a million, truly a great recipe. I have cooked many many gumbo recipes. This one is one of the best I have followed. I did incorporate a few others in with this one. First, it took about an hour to make the roux at a lower heat in order to make a medium dark. Second,when adding the sausage, I added about a half a cup of home made tasso. I cut the Tabasco in half, because the extra spice in the tasso. Third, I cooked 2.5 lbs of snow crab in the 3 quarts of water, discarded only one quart and added 1 quart fresh water. Then followed with bullion. Authentic taste, one. .. If not the best I've made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States