Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2015
This turned out great, sausage was a little spicy so if your not into that use a different sausage but we loved it also I added scallops and it was fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
This is my absolute favorite recipe in the ENTIRE UNIVERSE! This gumbo is fantastic! I change nothing when I make it. My boyfriend loves chicken in it, we disagree. Thank you for sharing such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
Love this recipe. My family loved it, it is our new favorite recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by David Nagy
Reviewed: May 13, 2015
This is a good recipie to use. I modified it by doing the following: 1) I'm not wasting bacon to make this, so all the bacon drippings it calls for I simply replaced with butter- just as effective. 2) the extra tomato paste I just plain threw out, the stewed tomatoes are enough 3) the crab meat isn't totally necessary. It's kind-of hit or miss depending on the audience. 4) it tastes better and less tomato-y if you cook the roux longer until it's really dark brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Nagy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
This was my first time making gumbo. This turned out to be such a delicious, beautiful dish! Thank you for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Excellent results from this recipe, absolutely loved it. I took it to a "one pot" pot luck event and it disappeared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
I have cooked this recipe several times and followed the steps to the best of my abilities. As a genuine southern coastie Florida and South Alabama I really enjoy good food that is well prepared. I have read through more than a hundred of the reviews of this excellent recipe. Realizing that all ingredients are not available in all areas that one would like to cook this work of art I am puzzled by those who seem to underrate it after modifying the ingredients or cooking procedures. This procedure is akin to taking a picture of a sunset at noon and then criticizing the outcome. I'm not sure that this isn't the highest rated recipe on the web. It is certainly the best gumbo that I have ever tasted when made exactly as directed. I applaud the cooks that offered this to the world we owe you our thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Labor intensive, but worth it. Makes a lot so I'm glad to know it freezes well. Rave reviews from family. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
I have tried this recipe, it is perfect. Every step exact.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by twinkletoes
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
We LOVE this recipe!!! This gumbo is truly better than the gumbo at the Gumbo Shop in New Orleans. I pretty much followed the recipe except I added clams, scallops, shrimp,& a seafood mix. Turned out wonderfully. It's true what everyone says, this is really about the roux and the file powder. Take the time and do the roux right. It is worth it in the end. A big thank you to daily recipe doctor for sharing this fabulous recipe. We really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twinkletoes
Home Town: Harlingen, Texas, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States