Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I absolutely love this recipe! I will certainly use it again. After eating true gumbo in New Orleans as well as Memphis this is the only recipe I have found that is even close to the real thing! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Great recipe for a first timer! The roux is the trickiest part, not hard but time consuming so once you get that the rest comes together great! We made this exactly like the recipe and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ami Zimmerman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
I have made this delicious gumbo twice, with very minor changes: beef broth instead of bouillon cubes and water, addition of about a cup of chopped rotisserie chicken, red and orange pepper instead of green, and I left all the vegetables on the coarser side vs. finely chopped. I had to add a little butter to the bacon grease in the roux since I didn't have quite enough of the grease. However, the bacon grease is extremely important for authentic flavor, so be sure not to skip it altogether. Also, have a loaf of French bread on the table so everyone can soak up every last tasty drop. Best gumbo ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAUNLK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loudon, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chris
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
This is awesome! I added some mushrooms to mine. EXCELLENT RECIPE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeremy Kaufman
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Fantastic! Added shrimp and crab at last minute like some suggested. Didn't use file powder and supplemented butter flavored crisco when I ran out of bacon fat. Used chicken broth and a bay leaf to cook rice like Emeril suggests for rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeremy Kaufman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maggie Bonet
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Everyone in my house and neighbors loved it. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie Bonet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Great recipe. The crab over chicken was a very nice touch. Added a lot more flavor. I added minute rice in the last 10 minutes before serving and it was a nice touch. Didn't thicken it too much either. On top of the franks extra hot I used I added another tbsp of Sriracha for a little more kick. All in all one of if not the best gumbo I've had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Very good! I used butter instead of bacon drippings, mainly because I'm too lazy to make bacon drippings. It worked fine. I also used chicken instead of crab, just because it sounded good and it's cheaper. Everything else I did the same and it was amazing. The shrimp and the Andouille sausage were worth the expense. They gave the gumbo a great aroma and taste. When making your roux, I highly suggest you cook it on medium low and whisk nonstop for an hour. Then whisk another 15 off the burner. Any hotter than medium low and you'll be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
This is my second time making gumbo and it's my most successful! I was able to get my roux a milk choc color but next time I will be more patient in order to get that deep mahogany. I followed the recipe to the T except I eliminated the okra because I didn't have any on hand but I didn't miss it at all. Great flavors and it not hard if you take your time. This is definitely going to be a new staple in my recipe box. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toya Windom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
OH MY GOODNESS!!!! Thank yo so much for sharing! I made it with duck, shrimp and sausage and it was amazing! Other than that, I changed nothing! This will definitely be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States