Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
So, this summer, I went to Louisiana and had gumbo for the first time, and it was a revelation. This gumbo is just like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha Maximoff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Yes, this did take three hours. I was hoping to finish it all by two hours, but at the three hour mark the richness of the gumbo just infused the entire pot. My family went back for thirds. This recipe was way better than most of the gumbos that we tried in New Orleans. THIS is gumbo. I will be keeping this recipe around for a very long time. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
my husband and I have cooked this recipe already and shared it with a few friends it was given a 10/10.. I think it is a great recipe we are from Australia and thank you for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Lee Iacono

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This recipe is amazing. I made some tweaks (omitted file powder, used crawfish tails instead of shrimp, omitted tomato sauce and bay leaves), but this always turns out amazing. The only think you have to watch is the roux (bacon fat heats differently than oil). Delish! My husband requests this monthly. Well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Stef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Royalton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
super yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Poisson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westcliffe, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Looking for a great gumbo recipe? Stop looking and start cooking. I have made this several times now and every time I get rave reviews. One thing though be sure you have a really big pot as this will easily fill an 8 quart dutch oven to the brim. If you don't want to mess with tending the roux search the internet for "oven roux" and let your oven do the work for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I have cooked this recipe and I also took some of the advice from the reviews. With all of them combined this recipe was a hit for my family and friends. Thank you all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Orlando Addison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Been using the recipe for a few years. Best gumbo ever!!! Happy you shared
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalimar Taylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookiechixchris
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I will never use another gumbo recipe ever again. This was amazing! Thank you so much for sharing!!!!'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This recipe makes delicious gravy. Seriously, this gumbo is like gravy soup, and it's amazing. I fudged it: -coconut oil and margarine instead of bacon grease -no file powder or tomato sauce -only cooked roux for 30 minutes because i ran out of time -final cooking only 30 minutes, not 1 1/2 hours AND IT WAS STILL WONDERFUL, I definitely recommend this recipe. Just throw whatever meat/veg you have in, too, it'll be great ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States