Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I a born and bred Cajun from Louisiana and come from a long line of French decent. Never ever have I put tomatoes or tomato sauce in my gumbo. I've also eaten in every hole in the wall eating place New Orleans to include outside of the quarters. Never have eaten gumbo with tomatoes in it. This is not authentic. Authentic recipes are not given out to the general public. They are passed down. Sorry folks. The writer is pulling your leg folks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Been using the recipe for a few years. Best gumbo ever!!! Happy you shared
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalimar Taylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookiechixchris
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I will never use another gumbo recipe ever again. This was amazing! Thank you so much for sharing!!!!'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This recipe makes delicious gravy. Seriously, this gumbo is like gravy soup, and it's amazing. I fudged it: -coconut oil and margarine instead of bacon grease -no file powder or tomato sauce -only cooked roux for 30 minutes because i ran out of time -final cooking only 30 minutes, not 1 1/2 hours AND IT WAS STILL WONDERFUL, I definitely recommend this recipe. Just throw whatever meat/veg you have in, too, it'll be great ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
best gumbo ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Great recipe! I'm from the South and my family always makes gumbo without tomatoes. I was looking for a different recipe and am glad I found this one. It's delicious! A note about making a roux - stop working so hard! You can make it in the oven and it is perfection - thanks Alton Brown. Whisk 4 oz all purpose flour and 4 oz veg oil in a cast iron skillet, place in a 350 degree oven for 1 1/2 hours, stirring every half hour. It comes out nice and dark and DOES NOT BURN!!! Once you remove the roux from the oven, follow the recipe directions by adding the celery, bell pepper, etc. and continue with the recipe. You're welcome. ;~) Oh, and those who are shaming the person who submitted the recipe for giving away a family recipe, get over yourselves! The submitter never says it was a secret family recipe, just that it was never written down. We all share recipes our families love, and I am thankful this gumbo recipe was shared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I have never rated a recipe before but this recipe deserve more than 5 stars. I lived in New Orleans for 2 years and I have been searching for a gumbo recipe that was as authentic as a what I tasted there. This is it. I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
This is a good basic recipe, however it should be made with a seafood stock rather than all the water and beef boullion cubes. Just take your shrimp shells and legs (I save them from other recipes also and freeze them so that I have a lot on hand), quarter an onion or 2, cut 3 stalks celery in thirds and add 4 quarts water. Simmer this for as long as possible (8 hours is best). Do it the day before and you will be ready to go. Also, do not add the shrimp and crab until the last 5 mins or so of cooking or they will be tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Perfect. Authentic flavor. I use a "store-bought" roux, authentically made in Broussard, Louisiana. If you can find some, it saves a whopping hour to an hour and a half! I put in 2 skinless, boneless chicken breasts,cut into bite-size chunks, Andouille sausage, blue crab chunks, and shrimp, of course. So-o-o-o good served in a bowl on a bed of brown rice with rustic, crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Bedford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Fantastic! I followed the recipe pretty close, and it was so good! I have one person that cannot handle much heat, so I avoided the Andouille and used smoked sausage instead. I also used chicken instead of the crab meat to make it more economical. The broth was to die for! I sampled a bit before adding the okra and I just had to keep going back for more! I had a hard time finding the file powder, but finally found it at one of the local grocery stores. I will definitely make this again! Thank you so much for sharing this great family recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States