Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2015
This was my first time making gumbo. This turned out to be such a delicious, beautiful dish! Thank you for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Excellent results from this recipe, absolutely loved it. I took it to a "one pot" pot luck event and it disappeared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
I have cooked this recipe several times and followed the steps to the best of my abilities. As a genuine southern coastie Florida and South Alabama I really enjoy good food that is well prepared. I have read through more than a hundred of the reviews of this excellent recipe. Realizing that all ingredients are not available in all areas that one would like to cook this work of art I am puzzled by those who seem to underrate it after modifying the ingredients or cooking procedures. This procedure is akin to taking a picture of a sunset at noon and then criticizing the outcome. I'm not sure that this isn't the highest rated recipe on the web. It is certainly the best gumbo that I have ever tasted when made exactly as directed. I applaud the cooks that offered this to the world we owe you our thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Labor intensive, but worth it. Makes a lot so I'm glad to know it freezes well. Rave reviews from family. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
I have tried this recipe, it is perfect. Every step exact.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by twinkletoes
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
We LOVE this recipe!!! This gumbo is truly better than the gumbo at the Gumbo Shop in New Orleans. I pretty much followed the recipe except I added clams, scallops, shrimp,& a seafood mix. Turned out wonderfully. It's true what everyone says, this is really about the roux and the file powder. Take the time and do the roux right. It is worth it in the end. A big thank you to daily recipe doctor for sharing this fabulous recipe. We really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twinkletoes
Home Town: Harlingen, Texas, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Outstanding. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
This is fabulous! It was my first attempt at gumbo, and after 4 YouTube videos on making the roux I was ready for the time it took. But each of those suggested 1 to 1 oil and flour so I did that. DON'T. This recipe is correct. By personal preference I spooned off floating fat that the sausage gave up, so was sorry to have also used more fat for the roux. (My fat was a mixture of bacon grease and Crisco.) Also, the fish market didn't have crab so I used shrimp only. Was fab. I served this with a scoop of stone ground grits that were cooked in a crock pot with chicken stock and a little heavy cream. Salad of orange/lettuce/fennel with light orange dressing (found it on AllRecipes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
We have made this twice and love it, first of all, it makes a lot. We ate some, had leftovers the next day and froze some. It freezes well. We called it our $50 gumbo because crab meat, andouille and catfish (which we added) all are expensive. It's worth it though, tastes great,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noel Vickers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I absolutely love this recipe! I will certainly use it again. After eating true gumbo in New Orleans as well as Memphis this is the only recipe I have found that is even close to the real thing! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States