Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by David Nagy
Reviewed: May 13, 2015
This is a good recipie to use. I modified it by doing the following: 1) I'm not wasting bacon to make this, so all the bacon drippings it calls for I simply replaced with butter- just as effective. 2) the extra tomato paste I just plain threw out, the stewed tomatoes are enough 3) the crab meat isn't totally necessary. It's kind-of hit or miss depending on the audience. 4) it tastes better and less tomato-y if you cook the roux longer until it's really dark brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Nagy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
This was my first time making gumbo. This turned out to be such a delicious, beautiful dish! Thank you for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Excellent results from this recipe, absolutely loved it. I took it to a "one pot" pot luck event and it disappeared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
I have cooked this recipe several times and followed the steps to the best of my abilities. As a genuine southern coastie Florida and South Alabama I really enjoy good food that is well prepared. I have read through more than a hundred of the reviews of this excellent recipe. Realizing that all ingredients are not available in all areas that one would like to cook this work of art I am puzzled by those who seem to underrate it after modifying the ingredients or cooking procedures. This procedure is akin to taking a picture of a sunset at noon and then criticizing the outcome. I'm not sure that this isn't the highest rated recipe on the web. It is certainly the best gumbo that I have ever tasted when made exactly as directed. I applaud the cooks that offered this to the world we owe you our thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Labor intensive, but worth it. Makes a lot so I'm glad to know it freezes well. Rave reviews from family. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
I have tried this recipe, it is perfect. Every step exact.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by twinkletoes
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
We LOVE this recipe!!! This gumbo is truly better than the gumbo at the Gumbo Shop in New Orleans. I pretty much followed the recipe except I added clams, scallops, shrimp,& a seafood mix. Turned out wonderfully. It's true what everyone says, this is really about the roux and the file powder. Take the time and do the roux right. It is worth it in the end. A big thank you to daily recipe doctor for sharing this fabulous recipe. We really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twinkletoes
Home Town: Harlingen, Texas, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Outstanding. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
This is fabulous! It was my first attempt at gumbo, and after 4 YouTube videos on making the roux I was ready for the time it took. But each of those suggested 1 to 1 oil and flour so I did that. DON'T. This recipe is correct. By personal preference I spooned off floating fat that the sausage gave up, so was sorry to have also used more fat for the roux. (My fat was a mixture of bacon grease and Crisco.) Also, the fish market didn't have crab so I used shrimp only. Was fab. I served this with a scoop of stone ground grits that were cooked in a crock pot with chicken stock and a little heavy cream. Salad of orange/lettuce/fennel with light orange dressing (found it on AllRecipes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
We have made this twice and love it, first of all, it makes a lot. We ate some, had leftovers the next day and froze some. It freezes well. We called it our $50 gumbo because crab meat, andouille and catfish (which we added) all are expensive. It's worth it though, tastes great,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noel Vickers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States