Good-Morning Banana Nut Cereal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Great recipe that adds more protein to your morning oatmeal. I substitued steel cut oats for the rolled oats and cooked the quinoa and the steel cut oats together. I also added couple more tablespoons of water and cooked for 2 minutes longer. Pecans were used for the nuts. Very satisfying breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
My husband was wary of this recipe, because of the quinoa, but I told him to try it and he loved it. I was out of bananas, so I substituted dried cranberries - one my typical breakfast toppings - and he LOVED it. It takes a little longer than instant oatmeal, our usual breakfast, but it is SOOO worth the wait. I will cook this again and again and try other substitutions. YUM!! I think I must have done something "wrong though"..I doubled the recipe and the resulting volume seemed to be the same as one of the instant oatmeal packets. I probably reduced the water/milk by too much. We are going to keep experimenting with this, maybe try dry mango, cherries, blueberries. I "realized" today why Homeskillet added banana. Bananas are loaded with benefits that everyone can use to start off their day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raseitz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I hate bananas. And I love this. Go figure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This was better than I thought it would be. I love the combo of quinoa and oats. The banana was a little much for me, maybe some frozen blueberries or raisins next time. good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gcooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Thank you for this recipe! I make it for my husband and I a few times a week for breakfast. It's absolutely delicious and very healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Easy, delicious and healthy! Substituted ground flaxseed for the oat bran is all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I have been wanting to add quinoa to my diet, and this was the perfect recipe to start off with. I added a little to much of the brown sugar, but I know for next time that not as much will be needed. I am also going to try this with other fruits, as others have suggested, this way I can use up all the fruit from last years canning, and have a fresh stock for this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellie

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This recipe was great. I didn't add the oat bran, but everything else was included. I was amazed at how long this simple meal held me over. I ate this at 7am and didn't feel hungry until noon. That's what I call an amazing meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
A nice breakfast, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
A great spring board recipe. I just got done making this. It was the first time I've ever made quinoa so I was really surprised when this came out perfectly. As I was making breakfast, all hell broke loose and the granola I was toasting burned, my eggs suffered a bit of overcooking but my hot cereal was perfect, and cheered me right up. I do suggest that those cooking this hold on to the sugar until the bananas have cooked down, because it may not be necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Gluten-Free Hot Breakfast Cereal

A delicious and healthy hot cereal with 8 gluten-free whole grains and seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States