Good-Morning Banana Nut Cereal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
SO easy and so filling and flexible on ingredients. My grocery didnt have quinoa so I left it out. I quadrupled for me and hubby as reviews said servings were small. Instead of a pinch of cinnamon, my shaker decided a tablespoon was necessary (oops!) And as i reached for the brown sugar I discovered it had turned into a brick! Hubby opted to use white and raved about how good this was. Will make again!! Thank you :) Edit: have made probably 100 times, my fav is with apple :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HisMrs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Delicious! I've made this twice in 2 days. The second time was much better, I cooked the quinoa in the water for about 10 mins, then added the milk and other goodies. I did it once with banana and once with an apple, they were both really good! My 9 month old gobbled down almost a full portion too :-) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Great recipe that adds more protein to your morning oatmeal. I substitued steel cut oats for the rolled oats and cooked the quinoa and the steel cut oats together. I also added couple more tablespoons of water and cooked for 2 minutes longer. Pecans were used for the nuts. Very satisfying breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
My husband was wary of this recipe, because of the quinoa, but I told him to try it and he loved it. I was out of bananas, so I substituted dried cranberries - one my typical breakfast toppings - and he LOVED it. It takes a little longer than instant oatmeal, our usual breakfast, but it is SOOO worth the wait. I will cook this again and again and try other substitutions. YUM!! I think I must have done something "wrong though"..I doubled the recipe and the resulting volume seemed to be the same as one of the instant oatmeal packets. I probably reduced the water/milk by too much. We are going to keep experimenting with this, maybe try dry mango, cherries, blueberries. I "realized" today why Homeskillet added banana. Bananas are loaded with benefits that everyone can use to start off their day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raseitz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I hate bananas. And I love this. Go figure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This was better than I thought it would be. I love the combo of quinoa and oats. The banana was a little much for me, maybe some frozen blueberries or raisins next time. good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gcooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Thank you for this recipe! I make it for my husband and I a few times a week for breakfast. It's absolutely delicious and very healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Easy, delicious and healthy! Substituted ground flaxseed for the oat bran is all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I have been wanting to add quinoa to my diet, and this was the perfect recipe to start off with. I added a little to much of the brown sugar, but I know for next time that not as much will be needed. I am also going to try this with other fruits, as others have suggested, this way I can use up all the fruit from last years canning, and have a fresh stock for this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellie

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This recipe was great. I didn't add the oat bran, but everything else was included. I was amazed at how long this simple meal held me over. I ate this at 7am and didn't feel hungry until noon. That's what I call an amazing meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Gluten-Free Hot Breakfast Cereal

A delicious and healthy hot cereal with 8 gluten-free whole grains and seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States