Good-Morning Banana Nut Cereal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
My family enjoyed this, even my 9 year old son, which is great. My "pinch" of salt was too big, so it was too salty. I think I'll just leave that out next time. I used ground flax for oat bran.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
This was good, but I think it could be creamier. Why 1/2 water half milk? Next time I will use just milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bielefeld, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
yummy! I doubled the recipe, and used half ground flaxseed, half wheat germ for the oat bran (didn't have any).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
SO easy and so filling and flexible on ingredients. My grocery didnt have quinoa so I left it out. I quadrupled for me and hubby as reviews said servings were small. Instead of a pinch of cinnamon, my shaker decided a tablespoon was necessary (oops!) And as i reached for the brown sugar I discovered it had turned into a brick! Hubby opted to use white and raved about how good this was. Will make again!! Thank you :) Edit: have made probably 100 times, my fav is with apple :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HisMrs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Delicious! I've made this twice in 2 days. The second time was much better, I cooked the quinoa in the water for about 10 mins, then added the milk and other goodies. I did it once with banana and once with an apple, they were both really good! My 9 month old gobbled down almost a full portion too :-) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Great recipe that adds more protein to your morning oatmeal. I substitued steel cut oats for the rolled oats and cooked the quinoa and the steel cut oats together. I also added couple more tablespoons of water and cooked for 2 minutes longer. Pecans were used for the nuts. Very satisfying breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
My husband was wary of this recipe, because of the quinoa, but I told him to try it and he loved it. I was out of bananas, so I substituted dried cranberries - one my typical breakfast toppings - and he LOVED it. It takes a little longer than instant oatmeal, our usual breakfast, but it is SOOO worth the wait. I will cook this again and again and try other substitutions. YUM!! I think I must have done something "wrong though"..I doubled the recipe and the resulting volume seemed to be the same as one of the instant oatmeal packets. I probably reduced the water/milk by too much. We are going to keep experimenting with this, maybe try dry mango, cherries, blueberries. I "realized" today why Homeskillet added banana. Bananas are loaded with benefits that everyone can use to start off their day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raseitz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I hate bananas. And I love this. Go figure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This was better than I thought it would be. I love the combo of quinoa and oats. The banana was a little much for me, maybe some frozen blueberries or raisins next time. good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gcooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Thank you for this recipe! I make it for my husband and I a few times a week for breakfast. It's absolutely delicious and very healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Gluten-Free Hot Breakfast Cereal

A delicious and healthy hot cereal with 8 gluten-free whole grains and seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States