Good-Morning Banana Nut Cereal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I've never managed to make oatmeal taste good and although this isn't exactly oatmeal it's the best hot cereal I've ever made. I didn't have quinoa so I used pearl barley instead and had strawberries to get rid of so I used those along with the banana. I added a bit more sugar than called for, thinking that it wouldn't be sweet enough, that was a mistake! It's a great recipe as written and I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocktailqueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Delicious and nutricious! This was a great way to start the day. It was not only tasty but very filling. I added a little more cinnamon and a pinch of nutmeg. Overall, perfect for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This was surprisingly good, however I had to make a few changes. I did not have the oat bran so I used ground flax seed. This is probably a healthier choice going forward. I did not use the brown sugar, I used one whole banana. It was plenty sweet enough for my taste. I found that there wasn't quite enough liquid in the recipe, so with such a small serving size the kind of pot you use will make a difference. I used a larger skillet and too much liquid evaporated (so I had to add more a couple of times) plus my quinoa did not get as done as I would have liked. I would have rated it more in the 4.5 range if I had the choice because it is definately worth making, but it's not really a 5 star recipe in the grand scheme of things. All in all I will make this again! Next time I will make a quadruple recipe to share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
SO TASTY!!!! A bit more time-consumming than some other recipes, but totally delicious and well worth the time. I don't have oat bran, but I've successfully used both wheat germ and ground flaxseed in its place. Also, I LOVE cinnamon (and it's actually very healthy), so I added between 1/2 - 1 tsp. Additionally, I used raw pumpkin seeds rather than the walnuts as I am vegetarian and the provide extra iron, aside from the fact that they add a delicious crunch. Lastly, the vanilla is a must - it makes the dish. A great way to start the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I made this recipe up while I was living alone during grad-school. You can double it, doctor it, and pretty much add whatever you want to it. I used quinoa for extra protein to help me get through really long days. I've added flax seed, blueberries, diced apples, dried cranberries, peaches, etc. to this recipe. Some will find it sweet enough with just the banana but, if you're like me and you live molasses, brown sugar adds a nice flavor. I think you could make this with pretty much any grain you want - sometimes I toss in a little polenta or grits, but it's important to use slow-cooking oats, not the quick-cook or instant oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
THE best breakfast I've had in a long time. I only made two small changes and that's using one whole sliced banana and 1/4 cup fat free evaporated milk. Everything else I kept the same. Very, VERY good. Next time, I'll quadruple it (thanks to the handy-dandy serving adjuster) so my whole family can enjoy this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VEGEPUNKSTR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shadow Hills, California, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I love this! It's pretty thick so I poured a little milk over it when it was done (but I do that with my regular oatmeal too). I used a dash of liquid sweetener instead of brown sugar and also added in a pinch of ground flax like a couple other reviews mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Excellent recipe and so delicious. I have made this with the bananas as called for and also with blueberries. Both were wonderful and I'm so glad to have a new recipe with quinoa in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Danville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I thought this was pretty good. It unsurprisingly put the flavored bagged oatmeal to shame. My grocery store did not have quinoa or oatbran, unfortunately. So, I subbed an equal amount of those ingredients for additional old-fashioned style oatmeal. I loved the walnut and tad of brown sugar that really gave the oatmeal good flavor. I ended up adding the oatmeal to the slow boiling milk, water, cinnamon, and vanilla and, cooking it and stirring often, for about 4 minutes and then adding the banana, walnuts, and brown sugar once off the heat. I only had 2% milk and not non-fat and it worked fine. I think the old fashioned and not quick oats are needed in this recipe. Thank you for the filling, tasty, and healthy breakfast this morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Gluten-Free Hot Breakfast Cereal

A delicious and healthy hot cereal with 8 gluten-free whole grains and seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States