Good-Morning Banana Nut Cereal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
THE best breakfast I've had in a long time. I only made two small changes and that's using one whole sliced banana and 1/4 cup fat free evaporated milk. Everything else I kept the same. Very, VERY good. Next time, I'll quadruple it (thanks to the handy-dandy serving adjuster) so my whole family can enjoy this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Delicious and nutricious! This was a great way to start the day. It was not only tasty but very filling. I added a little more cinnamon and a pinch of nutmeg. Overall, perfect for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
This was very good. I would use roasted ground flaxmeal over the oatbran for a more nutty flavor and cook the quinoa a bit longer. Also, using a really ripe banana cancels out the need to add any sugar. Topped with extra banana slices and an extra sprinkle of cinnamon and this was a really good start to the day. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I made this recipe up while I was living alone during grad-school. You can double it, doctor it, and pretty much add whatever you want to it. I used quinoa for extra protein to help me get through really long days. I've added flax seed, blueberries, diced apples, dried cranberries, peaches, etc. to this recipe. Some will find it sweet enough with just the banana but, if you're like me and you live molasses, brown sugar adds a nice flavor. I think you could make this with pretty much any grain you want - sometimes I toss in a little polenta or grits, but it's important to use slow-cooking oats, not the quick-cook or instant oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
SO TASTY!!!! A bit more time-consumming than some other recipes, but totally delicious and well worth the time. I don't have oat bran, but I've successfully used both wheat germ and ground flaxseed in its place. Also, I LOVE cinnamon (and it's actually very healthy), so I added between 1/2 - 1 tsp. Additionally, I used raw pumpkin seeds rather than the walnuts as I am vegetarian and the provide extra iron, aside from the fact that they add a delicious crunch. Lastly, the vanilla is a must - it makes the dish. A great way to start the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Declicious! I added a tablespoon of ground flax seed, 2 tblsp of vanilla yogurt an extra tblsp of brown sugar and a little more milk in the end, and that made it creamy and oh so good! Thanks sumitter! Elvira Silva.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvmy2girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This was surprisingly good, however I had to make a few changes. I did not have the oat bran so I used ground flax seed. This is probably a healthier choice going forward. I did not use the brown sugar, I used one whole banana. It was plenty sweet enough for my taste. I found that there wasn't quite enough liquid in the recipe, so with such a small serving size the kind of pot you use will make a difference. I used a larger skillet and too much liquid evaporated (so I had to add more a couple of times) plus my quinoa did not get as done as I would have liked. I would have rated it more in the 4.5 range if I had the choice because it is definately worth making, but it's not really a 5 star recipe in the grand scheme of things. All in all I will make this again! Next time I will make a quadruple recipe to share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Yummy, and so healthy with the 3 cereals. I felt it needed more liquid, though, as it was too thick, so I added some while it was cooking. I think granola would be good to add to give it some more sweetness. Servings looked small, but it's very filling, a little goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I've never managed to make oatmeal taste good and although this isn't exactly oatmeal it's the best hot cereal I've ever made. I didn't have quinoa so I used pearl barley instead and had strawberries to get rid of so I used those along with the banana. I added a bit more sugar than called for, thinking that it wouldn't be sweet enough, that was a mistake! It's a great recipe as written and I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocktailqueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Easy, delicious and healthy! Substituted ground flaxseed for the oat bran is all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Gluten-Free Hot Breakfast Cereal

A delicious and healthy hot cereal with 8 gluten-free whole grains and seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States