Good-Morning Banana Nut Cereal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
My family enjoyed this, even my 9 year old son, which is great. My "pinch" of salt was too big, so it was too salty. I think I'll just leave that out next time. I used ground flax for oat bran.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
This was good, but I think it could be creamier. Why 1/2 water half milk? Next time I will use just milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bielefeld, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
yummy! I doubled the recipe, and used half ground flaxseed, half wheat germ for the oat bran (didn't have any).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
SO easy and so filling and flexible on ingredients. My grocery didnt have quinoa so I left it out. I quadrupled for me and hubby as reviews said servings were small. Instead of a pinch of cinnamon, my shaker decided a tablespoon was necessary (oops!) And as i reached for the brown sugar I discovered it had turned into a brick! Hubby opted to use white and raved about how good this was. Will make again!! Thank you :) Edit: have made probably 100 times, my fav is with apple :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HisMrs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Delicious! I've made this twice in 2 days. The second time was much better, I cooked the quinoa in the water for about 10 mins, then added the milk and other goodies. I did it once with banana and once with an apple, they were both really good! My 9 month old gobbled down almost a full portion too :-) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Great recipe that adds more protein to your morning oatmeal. I substitued steel cut oats for the rolled oats and cooked the quinoa and the steel cut oats together. I also added couple more tablespoons of water and cooked for 2 minutes longer. Pecans were used for the nuts. Very satisfying breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
My husband was wary of this recipe, because of the quinoa, but I told him to try it and he loved it. I was out of bananas, so I substituted dried cranberries - one my typical breakfast toppings - and he LOVED it. It takes a little longer than instant oatmeal, our usual breakfast, but it is SOOO worth the wait. I will cook this again and again and try other substitutions. YUM!! I think I must have done something "wrong though"..I doubled the recipe and the resulting volume seemed to be the same as one of the instant oatmeal packets. I probably reduced the water/milk by too much. We are going to keep experimenting with this, maybe try dry mango, cherries, blueberries. I "realized" today why Homeskillet added banana. Bananas are loaded with benefits that everyone can use to start off their day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raseitz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I hate bananas. And I love this. Go figure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This was better than I thought it would be. I love the combo of quinoa and oats. The banana was a little much for me, maybe some frozen blueberries or raisins next time. good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gcooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Thank you for this recipe! I make it for my husband and I a few times a week for breakfast. It's absolutely delicious and very healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Gluten-Free Hot Breakfast Cereal

A delicious and healthy hot cereal with 8 gluten-free whole grains and seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States