Good Meringue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Brooke
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Wow! I had no idea how easy meringue is to prepare! I took the advice of another reviewer and used ~1/4 cup of sugar and it tastes and looks great! I baked it on 200 C for about 9 minutes. Wonderful! Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingwood, Texas, USA
Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This is simple and delicious...I added a 1/2 tps of Pure Vanilla Extract and it just made it all the better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
No need or Cream of Tartar. If you bake this for a long time at low temperature (200 x 120 min), you get a crunchy meringue all through. If you bake at higher temps for shorter times (350 x 15 min), the top browns and the insides stay creamy. This seems like a lot of sugar. I use about 1/4 c for 4-5 egg whites and it's plenty sweet on top of a sweet pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
This was my first attempt at meringue, I put it over my grandmother's butterscotch pie. It was so easy, and turned out perfect. I only gave it 4 starts because that is WAY too much sugar...it only needs about 3 T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Hopkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Really Good!! But I did not need the cream of tarter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
It's a nice simple recipe but no instruction on how long to bake for different pies. I used this recipe with a Chocolate Cream Pie. I made te pie up according to directions and then slathered on the Merinque and baked it at 350 degrees F. for about 15 minutes. Just enough to brown the peaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cuero, Texas, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
when making this recipe you need to be very alert so you dont over cook this delish taste try cooking around 220 degress for aprox 2 and 3/4 hours HAPPY EATING!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2002
1/3 cup sugar is plenty for three egg whites. I used on coconut cream pie and baked it 15 minutes at 35o. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2001
There were no instructions in this recipe about how to cook them, so i had to look in a recipe book to see what they said. I cooked them for about 3 hours at 200 degrees, and they came out great. I also added vanilla to the batter for extra flavor. It is a very easy recipe, but it takes forever to bake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Oven broiled salmon fillets with sweet Dijon mustard sauce.

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States