Good For You Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Really liked this recipe--my picky toddler even ate it. I did feel like it needed a greater depth of flavor, though. Next time I'll add mustard to the sauce & may consider adding a small amount of some smoked cheese (e.g., gouda) to give it a bit more of a kick. I left off the chick pea topping based on other reviews & it was still delicious. I may also try adding more sweet potatoes to the sauce & cauliflower to the noodles to make it slightly healthier. Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
REALLY enjoyed this! We were looking for a healthier alternative to my 4 sons' beloved Mac & Cheese and we were surprised that everyone liked this so much! It is a bit labor-intensive, so next time I make it, I think put a few together for the freezer. I think it would re-heat nicely. Nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynee`

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
It was very tasty. I didn't have evaporated milk on hand, so just used my 1% milk from the fridge in place of both the evaporated milk and the water. I used Italian seasoned bread crumbs in the topping. I only had mild shredded cheddar, too. But other than those minor substitutions, I pretty much followed the recipe. Oh - also used a sprinkling of an all-purpose seasoning non-salt. It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
It was okay and edible, but not great. I followed the recipe as shown. More work than I care to do for something mediocre.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Yummy recipe. I didn't put the garbanzo beans on top, instead I did seasoned matzah meal and parm cheese with a few fried onions. This was a special treat for Shavuot, and a great treat at that. Next time I will used whole wheat or quinoa noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA
Living In: Big Bend National Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Great recipe. My husband does NOT like chick peas and found the recipe printed out on the kitchen table. However, for anyone dubious about them, you cannot even taste them, so DO NOT let that stop you from making this very yummy dish. I followed the directions exactly and used portion sizes of 1/16, which was PLENTY to eat. I can't imagine eating more for a single serving. I portioned it all out and am going to freeze my pieces to save as a Friday night treat instead of pizza. My husband, however, LOVED it and wants to eat his until it's all gone. : ) Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I liked this recipe, but not a lot. The sweet potato and garbanzo beans made it very filling and it was a good cheap meal. (I substituted the random cheese I had on hand(Mexi-cheese and Mozzarella) so I didn't have to go out and buy the cheddar) The flavor may have been a bit better if I used the cheddar according to the recipe. I'll probably try this one again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This recipe was delicious and even my very picky husband who hates sweet potatoes and saw me preparing one just for this recipe loved it! You can't taste the sweet potatoes or chickpeas. It's just mac and cheese with the nutrients you get from the chickpeas and sweet potatoes! I must say though, that the prep time took me much longer than 25 minutes because I had to make the mashed sweet potatoes prior to everything else. Also, I ran into a scalding issue with the evap. milk and roux. That wasn't really a problem in the recipe. More a problem with the clean up. The entire recipe from beginning-end took me about 2.5 hours, and I'd consider myself an intermediate cook. This recipe also made a ton of leftovers! We didn't have a 9x13 pan, so I improvised and used 2 9inch pie pans. Worked just as well and my husband liked how I just cut our mac and cheese portions into pizza-shaped triangles. :) Yes, he's a 10 year old trapped in a 30 year old's body. But I love the man. Try this recipe! Also, I recommend adding more salt to the evaporated milk/roux mixture. The mac and cheese wasn't very salty, but the cheese really packs a punch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slowcookerdiva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Dianne, thank you!!! My husband and I really enjoyed this dish. I scaled it back to 4 servings and still filled a large casserole dish. I made a few changes, and it was excellent: cornstarch instead of flour/butter roux, cayenne powder instead of red pepper flakes, Italian-seasoned bread crumbs instead of plain, fat-free evaporated milk and fat-free sour cream, and sprayed the top of the casserole with non-stick cooking spray instead of dotting with butter. After it baked for 30 minutes, I switched to broil on Low for a couple minutes to brown the topping and make it crispy. I will be making this again for Christmas eve, but with 8 servings this time for the family. THANK YOU AGAIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
Mild and mellow! Great when served warm, just as good cold! This was a hit with my family. I used whole wheat macaroni and flour, and all sharp cheese when making this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States