Good Dog Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
My dogs gobble these down in a matter of days. The only change I would suggest is to use "sodium free" beef flavoring, as dogs cannot process salt. I cut down to one cube, and the dogs still gobbled them up. Suggest to go to salt free broth instead of the flavor cubes to be on the safe side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
275 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I can't tell you how happy I am to find a good treat for my 5 dogs they alwalys beg for seconds. I added some jerky bits and they loved them I gave them to friends and had 100% approval even with people who said there dogs were picky. For my dogs on my 3rd double batch I rolled them out and cut them with a pizza cutter into strips then I can break them into little pieces for rewards or give them a big piece. I also just cut some in 1 1/2in squares, and used my mini icecream scoop rolled some in balls with my meat tenderizer I made a pattern which made them look cute. Any dog would be thrilled to get these I even had friends cats eating them. I have made these so many times the easiest way I have found yet is to spray a 9x13 oan and press dough to the edge cut in 1x2 in squares and bake as directed and you have bar cookies my dogs like them chewy so this works out fast and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Shiozaki

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wales, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I can't say I loved them but My doggy sure did! I let them stay in the oven after I turned them off though because they were still somewhat "soft" they harden up well over night. Added handfull of chopped parsley and a jar of babyfood BEEF and babyfood carrots. --for nutrition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FACSTeacher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Iberia, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
As a last-ditch effort to win favor with my friend's dog Sally, the pickiest poodle in the entire world, I made this recipe. I added about 1/3 cup peanut butter and only used 1 bouillon cube. I did have to add extra water in order to keep the dough together. Sally came over to investigate halfway through the process and didn't leave my side for the next hour. Needless to say, I have a new friend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Toby loves these cookies. I rolled out the entire recipe 1/4" thick, cut out lots and lots of 1" circles and baked for 20 min. We even mailed some to the doggie cousin in Texas. They ship well and keep well. Now if puppy housebreaking would only be going so well...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
These cookies were easy to make, and my dog really liked them! I was expecting a crunchy biscuit-type treat, but they turned out kind of soft--like a cookie, I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
These were very easy and a great way to use whole wheat flour! My puppies (all 3 of them) kept coming back for more! I'll be making these for our extended dog families!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Very easy to make, but I think the amount of oil used may be too much - it was awfully "oily" or "greasy" feeling. Also, the beef bouillon cubes adds an awful lot of salt to them. I also think they should have baked longer as they really aren't very crispy like a dog treat usually is. They did smell great while baking,though, and my dogs love them. I just think I'll probably stick with the pumpkin & peanut butter treats I normally make for them as they seem healthier to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
My dog loved these when I made them at Christmas for her and her dog friends. I made them again for Valentine's Day in heart shapes, and she never left the kitchen while they were baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by koala red

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
These dog treats are amazing, my dog is somewhat picky and he absolutely loves them. His little ears perk up everytime he hears me ask if he wants a "cookie". I will continue to make this cookies regularly for my pets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Dog Treats

Your dog will love these nutritious treats, which are easy to make.

Baked Apple Chips

Watch how to make a sweet, crispy treat that tastes like apple pie.

How to Clarify Butter

See a simple process that lets butter withstand higher heat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States